Skip to content

Semifinalists for Lombardi Award announced

The Rotary Club of Houston today announced the 12 semifinalists for the2009 Ndamukong Suh Rotary Lombardi Award. 

Since 1970, the Rotary Lombardi Award has been presented annually to the nation’s top college football lineman (offense or defense) who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.

Eight seniors and four juniors make up the list.  The SEC and Big 12 dominate the list with six and four semifinalists, respectively.  Florida and Alabama each have two players who made the cut to the final 12.

Brian Orakpo of Texas was the 2008 winner of the Lombardi.

Below are the names of this year’s semifinalists:

Terrence Cody, Alabama, NG, #62, Sr., 6-5, 365, Ft. Myers, FLRennie Curran, Georgia, LB, #35, Jr., 5-11, 228, Snellville, GA

Carlos Dunlap, Florida, DE, #8, Jr., 6-6, 290, North Charleston, SC Jerry Hughes, TCU, DE, #98, Sr., 6-3, 257, Sugar Land, TX Rolando McClain, Alabama, LB, #25, Jr., 6-4, 258, Decatur, AL Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma, #93, DT, Jr., 6-4, 297, Oklahoma City, OK Eric Norwood, South Carolina, LB, #40, Sr., 6-1, 252, Acworth, GA Russell Okung, Oklahoma State, LT, #76, Sr., 6-5, 300, Houston, TX George Selvie, South Florida, DE, #95, Sr., 6-4, 250, Pensacola, FL Brandon Spikes, Florida, LB, #51, Sr., 6-3, 258, Shelby, NC Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, DT, #93, Sr., 6-4, 300, Portland, OR Sean Weatherspoon, Missouri, LB, #12, Sr., 6-2, 245, Jasper, TX

Permalink 0 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, American Athletic Conference, Big 12 Conference, Florida Gators, Georgia Bulldogs, Missouri Tigers, Mountain West Conference, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Oklahoma Sooners, Oklahoma State Cowboys, Rumor Mill, South Carolina Gamecocks, Southeastern Conference, TCU Horned Frogs, USF Bulls
Respond to “Semifinalists for Lombardi Award announced”
Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!