Skip to content

Nagurski Award goes to Clemson’s Da’Quan Bowers

Da'Quan Bowers,T.J. Yates

Thanks in large part to his status as the nation’s sack leader, Clemson defensive end Da’Quan Bowers has been named the 2010 Nagurski Award winner, the Football Writers Association of America announced Monday night.

Other finalists for the Nagurski, given annually to Div. 1-A’s most outstanding defensive player, were Nick Fairley of Auburn, Justin Houston of Georgia, Luke Kuechly of Boston College and Patrick Peterson of LSU.

“This is a great honor for Da’Quan,” said Bowers’ head coach Dabo Swinney. “He has had a terrific year, a dominant year. He has come to play every single game this year and is very deserving of this award.”

Bowers leads the nation with 15.5 sacks and is second in tackles for loss with 25.

The junior was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year last week, and is a finalist for the Bednarik, Lombardi and Hendricks Awards.

Bowers has not yet decided whether he will forego his senior season and make himself available for the April NFL draft.

Permalink 0 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Atlantic Coast Conference, Clemson Tigers, Rumor Mill
Respond to “Nagurski Award goes to Clemson’s Da’Quan Bowers”
Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!