Skip to content

Arrested development: starting LB among pair of players dismissed by Ole Miss

Clarence Jackson

Three days after being indefinitely suspended from Ole Miss following yet another off-field incident, linebacker Clarence Jackson and defensive lineman Delvin Jones have been permanently banished from the football program.

Multiple media outlets are reporting that Rebels head coach Houston Nutt announced Monday afternoon he has dismissed the bumbling duo from the program.

Jackson and Jones were both arrested early Friday morning and charged with public drunkenness, and were hit with a suspension later that day.

After D.T. Shackelford suffered what’s likely a season-ending knee injury during spring practice, Jackson took over at weakside linebacker and was listed as No. 1 on the most recent depth chart.  This was Jackson’s second arrest in less than a year; last September, he was hit with a burglary charge for allegedly stealing, among other things, a 46-inch flat-screen TV from a building that houses the school’s mathematics department.

Jackson played in four games as a true freshman last year.

Jones, a sophomore, played in just two games in 2010 before being one of two players suspended for the final two games of the year due to “bad freshman mistakes”.

UPDATED 2:39 p.m. ET: Here’s the statement from Nutt on the twin dismissals.

“Clarence Jackson and Delvin Jones have been dismissed from the Ole Miss football program for violation of team rules. I believe in trying to make a difference in a young man’s life, and second chances are a part of that. However, you reach a point where you can’t get through to them, and as a team, we have to move on. We wish them the absolute best and hope they are able to get their lives in order.”

Permalink 4 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Ole Miss Rebels, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts
4 Responses to “Arrested development: starting LB among pair of players dismissed by Ole Miss”
  1. iamtalkingsolistenandlearn says: May 16, 2011 2:28 PM

    That is so sad. Two kids have an opportunity to play football in arguably the country’s finest conference and they blow it. It’s not like they are going to stay in school without football, so they are basically throwing their whole future down the drain.
    What the heck is wrong with kids today?

  2. iamtalkingsoyouknowiamamoron says: May 16, 2011 3:12 PM

    the problem with kids today is that you are one you slob

  3. trbowman says: May 16, 2011 3:23 PM

    With the lockout, I’m sure Michael Oher wouldn’t mind sitting down with these guys and having a talk.

  4. iamtalkingsolistenandlearn says: May 16, 2011 3:41 PM

    oh look. the immature he/she freak added yet ANOTHER screen name.

    you really are a very weird person with troubles.
    Why do you follow me everywhere and comment ? Are you that needy for attention? Don’t you have friends?
    My god following me from post to post is sad enough, but then adding multiple screen names to appear to be more people is disturbing. please seek professional help

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!