Skip to content

Prime Time ‘snub’ rectified as HOF unveils ’11 class

HOF Logo

We’ve long thought that, given his status as one of the most talented and dynamic football players to grace a college football field, Deion Sanders was long, long overdue for recognition for his on-field excellence at Florida State.  Finally, the College Football Hall of Fame has recognized.

The former Seminoles standout was one of 14 players and two head coaches who officially joined the 2011 Class of the Hall of Fame late Tuesday morning.  The announcement was made by the caretakers of the college game, the National Football Foundation, in New York City.

Along with Sanders and the previously announced selections of Michigan’s Lloyd Carr, Ohio State’s Eddie George, Miami’s Russell Maryland, Alabama’s Marty Lyons and Air Force’s Fisher DeBerry, here are the members of the Hall’s 2011 class:

— Carlos Alvarez, Florida, Wide Receiver, 1969-71

— Doug English, Texas, Defensive Tackle, 1972-74

— Bill Enyart, Oregon State, Fullback, 1966-68

— Jake Scott, Georgia, Defensive Back, 1967-68

— Will Shields, Nebraska, Offensive Guard, 1989-92

— Sandy Stephens, Minnesota, Quarterback, 1959-61

— Darryl Talley, West Virginia, Linebacker, 1979-82

— Clendon Thomas, Oklahoma, Running Back, 1954-57

— Rob Waldrop, Arizona, Defensive Lineman, 1990-93

— Gene Washington, Michigan State, Wide Receiver, 1964-66

Alvarez, Stephens, Waldrop and Washington were on the ballot for the first time.  Perhaps the most glaring omission from this year’s class, at least as far as first-timers are concerned, is Nebraska quarterback Tommie Frazier.  Then again, it took “Prime Time” 23 years — including the obligatory 10-year waiting period — from the end of his FSU career to be inducted, so maybe it’s not so glaring after all.

All 16 individuals, incidentally, will officially be inducted into the Hall of Fame during a December ceremony.

Permalink 4 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Air Force Falcons, Alabama Crimson Tide, Arizona Wildcats, Atlantic Coast Conference, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Florida Gators, Georgia Bulldogs, Miami Hurricanes, Michigan State Spartans, Michigan Wolverines, Minnesota Golden Gophers, Mountain West Conference, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Ohio State Buckeyes, Oregon State Beavers, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Texas Longhorns, Top Posts
4 Responses to “Prime Time ‘snub’ rectified as HOF unveils ’11 class”
  1. iamtalkingsolistenandlearn says: May 17, 2011 12:18 PM

    Prime Time
    Will Shields
    Russell Maryland
    Eddie George( yes I said it)

    All the above are worthy and excellant choices.

    All the others just unsure about.

  2. jpiro says: May 17, 2011 12:53 PM

    Deion should have been a first-ballot HOFer. NO excuse for it taking this long.

  3. iamtalkingsolistenandlearn says: May 17, 2011 1:41 PM


    I agree 100%

  4. ladyhuckleberry says: May 18, 2011 2:08 AM

    I’m agreeing with you guys yet there are so many who are still out there who never get mentioned. If it were up to some Deion would’ve never seen the light of day in the HoF, which is totally both assinine and beyond me. Marty Lyons had a teammate by the name of Barry Kraus that will never get the honors he should. But I’m not complaining. I just hope that the day will come when my guy Patrick Peterson’s time comes that they don’t overlook what he did. But I can just about say for relatively certainty they’ll throw up his “past”. But that kid’s got a head on his shoulders just like his teammate Kelvin Sheppard. And I dare say that you’ll find much more heart out of many this day in time like them. Ok, fore you jump on me I’ll confess: I’m a female and I’ve got my Big Girl Panties on so come and jump on me if you want to.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!