Skip to content

Big 12 reigns as Davey O’Brien Award announces semifinalists


(Here’s the press release announcing the semifinalists for the 2011 Davey O’Brien Award, given annually to the nation’s top quarterback.  Last year’s winner was Auburn’s Cam Newton.  Perhaps the most notable name not on the list?  West Virginia’s Geno Smith.  Anyway, here’s the release.)

The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced today the selection of 16 semifinalists for the 2011 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien).

Narrowed down from all 120 quarterbacks from NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools, semifinalists were selected by The O’Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2011 O’Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: Big 12 (5), Pac-12 (4), Big Ten (3), ACC (1), Conference USA (1), MWC (1) and SEC (1).

The list features returning finalists Andrew Luck (Sr., Stanford) and Kellen Moore (Sr., Boise State) as well as 2009 O’Brien Finalist Case Keenum (Sr., Houston). Returning semifinalists include: Matt Barkley (Jr., USC), Kirk Cousins (Sr., Michigan State), Robert Griffin III (Jr., Baylor), Landry Jones (Jr., Oklahoma), Denard Robinson (Jr., Michigan) and Darron Thomas (Jr., Oregon).

Permalink 6 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Arkansas Razorbacks, Articles, Atlantic Coast Conference, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Boise State Broncos, Clemson Tigers, Conference USA, Houston Cougars, Illinois Fighting Illini, Michigan Wolverines, Mountain West Conference, Oklahoma Sooners, Oklahoma State Cowboys, Oregon Ducks, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Stanford Cardinal, Texas A&M Aggies, Texas Tech Red Raiders, Top Posts, USC Trojans, Washington Huskies, Wisconsin Badgers
6 Responses to “Big 12 reigns as Davey O’Brien Award announces semifinalists”
  1. christopher525 says: Oct 25, 2011 12:16 AM

    Denard Robinson does NOT belong on this list at all. This is supposed to be about the top QB, not a RB who happens to pass the ball at times. He’ll have an amazing career, just ask Hines Ward, Pat White, Antwaan Randle-El, Seneca Wallace, Brad Smith, Woody Dantzler, etc……

  2. sinister23 says: Oct 25, 2011 3:41 AM

    @ retard who posted 1st- Robinson is the most electrifying quarterback in college football. Hes 2 dimensional, throw and run. Hes not the best passer, but he makes up for it with his legs. Your a hater!

  3. phillyb6 says: Oct 25, 2011 9:46 AM

    Geno Smith belongs on the list. So does Nick Foles. What stats are they using? Rushing?

    sinister, it’s YOU’RE a hater. thumbs down for you.

  4. sinister23 says: Oct 25, 2011 11:47 AM

    ^oh…. a typo…..i should haze myself and consider cutting off my fingers.

  5. tomosbornesretirementcostjoepaatitle says: Oct 25, 2011 3:21 PM

    This is a travesty. No McGloin or Bolden?

  6. sports_dude says: Oct 29, 2011 8:37 AM

    Tyler Wilson is he toughest QB in college football and his mechanics are the best in SEC. Vote Tyler Wilson Ark

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!