Skip to content

Manning Award announces QB finalists

Cam Newton Manning Award AP

Given annually since the 2004 season, the Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning and is presented to the top quarterback in the country.  The Manning — is that the proper parlance? — is also the only major QB award that takes a player’s performance into account.

Last year’s winner was Auburn’s Cam Newton (pictured, with the Manning Award in his left hand), and this year’s winner will be announced Jan. 18.

The 2011-12 winner will come from a 10-member pool of finalists, which were announced Wednesday evening.  And, without further ado, here they are:

Matt Barkley, USC
Kirk Cousins, Michigan State
Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Landry Jones, Oklahoma
Case Keenum, Houston
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State
Russell Wilson, Wisconsin
Tyler Wilson, Arkansas

Luck, Moore and Weeden were finalists for the 2010-2011 award, for those who were curious.

Permalink 6 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Arkansas Razorbacks, Articles, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Boise State Broncos, Conference USA, Houston Cougars, Michigan State Spartans, Mountain West Conference, Oklahoma Sooners, Oklahoma State Cowboys, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Stanford Cardinal, Top Posts, USC Trojans, Wisconsin Badgers
6 Responses to “Manning Award announces QB finalists”
  1. calmkiller says: Dec 1, 2011 7:18 AM

    No Geno Smith? That is sad.

  2. woebegong says: Dec 1, 2011 8:05 AM

    Just curious as to who or what organization composes this panel that makes the selection.

  3. alligatorsnapper says: Dec 1, 2011 9:17 AM

    Apparently, a committee chosen by the Allstate Sugar Bowl? Wonder if the Manning family have anything to do with the voting or evaluations other than being honored by having their name on the award? Maybe someone know.

    calmkiller: right…where’s Geno Smith? He did much better, though it was in a catch up scenario than Tyler Wilson did against LSU. Tyler Wilson was a non-impact player against LSU, no big deal. LSU put some hurt on him, though, so that slowed him down. Geno was a tenacious player who kept coming at LSU. Just comparing QBs that played against LSU, Geno Smith wins hands down over Tyler Wilson.

  4. woebegong says: Dec 1, 2011 9:31 AM

    I kind of tend to think most of these awards should just be performance based anyway. After all, would the country even know about these kids, if not for what they did on the football field?
    They need to separate the good guy awards from the football awards. I dislike seeing the off field accomplishments or endeavors combined with the off field ones. What often gets overlooked when that is done, is what the guys play has meant to his team. That is leadership, and you don’t need to single that out as a criteria for a QB. A players accomplishment in humanitarian accomplishments should be mixed in because then you get into a popularity award. I may not like a guy personally because he beat my team or maybe I don’t even like the team, but you have to admire his physical skills and how they translate down to helping his team win on the field.

  5. csuxrr says: Dec 1, 2011 10:09 AM

    Hey JT,

    Any comments on why you think they left Geno out?

  6. axltcu says: Dec 1, 2011 4:13 PM

    I’m biased but I think they could have snuck Casey Pachall in there

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!