Updated: Crowton out at Maryland as OC; Mike Locksley in?


Okay, seriously? Are we getting punk’d? Where’s Ashton Kutcher?

Following the announcement of two more Maryland players taking their leave of the program — which brings that total up to eight players who have left in recent weeks — Randy Edsall is now going to be in the market for a new offensive coordinator.

According to the Washington Post, and citing three sources with knowledge of the situation, Maryland OC Gary Crowton will not return to the team next season. Whether that means Crowton, who had a three-year deal with the school, resigned, was fired or otherwise is unclear at this time.

Last week, Crowton expressed his interest in the open Colorado State job. Crowton played at CSU in the late 1970’s and formerly held head coaching jobs at BYU and Louisiana Tech. That CSU opening ultimately went to Alabama offensive coordinator Jim McElwain. 

So while Crowton is apparently out at Maryland, word is beginning to grow that former New Mexico coach Mike Locksley will be brought in to replace Crowton as offensive coordinator.

Baltimore Sun beat writer Jeff Barker, as well as Footballscoop.com, are reporting the switch.

If so… wow.

Locksley’s short tenure at New Mexico was nothing short of a disaster. It’s one thing to struggle in the W-L column — New Mexico had just two wins under Locksley, for the record — but a slew of off-field issues that ended with a 19-year-old kid, who may or may not have been a recruit, getting busted for a DUI in Locksley’s car subsequently ended the coach’s time with the school.

The potential hire is not completely out of left field (although it has that ring to it). Locksley was known as an ace recruiter in the Washington D.C. area, but if the hiring is indeed true, it will be yet another chapter in what has already been a strange start to the Randy Edsall era at Maryland.

Starting Navy S Kwazel Bertrand undergoes surgery, likely out for season

Kwazel Bertrand, Jacobi Owens
Associated Press
Leave a comment

Navy has seen one of its most productive players on the defensive side of the ball play for perhaps the final time this season.

Kwazel Bertrand sustained a broken ankle in the win over Air Force last Saturday, head coach Ken Niumatalolo confirmed earlier this week. As a result, the defensive back will very likely miss the remainder of the 2015 season.

And, because he is a senior and has no other eligibility avenues to pursue, it would effectively end his collegiate career as well.

“I feel terrible for Kwazel. It’s really unfortunate any time a senior goes down with a season-ending injury,” Niumatalolo said. “Kwazel has been a really good player for us and we’re going to miss his presence out on the field.”

Bertrand started 27 games over the past three-plus seasons, including all four in 2015.

Unitas Award whittles watch list in half down to 15

FORT WORTH, TX - OCTOBER 03:  Trevone Boykin #2 of the TCU Horned Frogs looks for an open receiver against the Texas Longhorns in the second quarter at Amon G. Carter Stadium on October 3, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)
Getty Images
1 Comment

You know how I know we’re gradually creeping up on the end of another regular season?  Watch lists are being whittled.

The first major honor to do so is the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which is given out annually to the best quarterback who is a college senior or fourth-year junior.  The preseason watch list was 30 quarterbacks strong; the newest list has been cut in half to 15.

The most recent list includes one of the top Heisman contenders (TCU’s Trevone Boykin) and the top two nationally in passing yards (Bowling Green’s Matt Johnson, Western Kentucky’s Brandon Doughty), as well as a quarterback who’s closing in on the all-time FBS record for rushing touchdowns (Navy’s Keenan Reynolds).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with three watch listers, followed by two each from the AAC, ACC and Big Ten.  The SEC has as many players (one, Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott) as the FCS (North Dakota State’s Carson Wentz).

Last year’s winner was Marcus Mariota of Oregon.

Trevone Boykin, TCU
Jacoby Brissett, NC State
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, WKU
Everett Golson, Florida State
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Cody Kessler, USC
Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana
Carson Wentz, N. Dakota State
Marquise Williams, North Carolina
Travis Wilson, Utah