Danny O'Brien

Vandy reportedly not a transfer option for Danny O’Brien


Based on his prior relationship with James Franklin, it was thought that, once Danny O’Brien‘s transfer from Maryland came to fruition, Vanderbilt would be a likely landing spot for the quarterback.

As it turns out, and barring a successful appeal, that will not be possible.

Both the Baltimore Sun and Washington Post report that, while O’Brien was given a release from his Terps scholarship, it wasn’t unconditional.  The stipulations in the release reportedly include no schools in the ACC (standard); no schools on Maryland’s non-conference schedule (again, standard) the next two years, which eliminates such options as Temple, UConn and West Virginia; and, finally, no transfer to Vanderbilt (standard pettiness).

No reason was given as to why O’Brien is not permitted to transfer to the Commodores.  Vandy plays in the SEC and is not on the Terps’ non-conference schedule the next seven years let alone the two years of eligibility O’Brien will have if he graduates, as expected, later this academic year.

Franklin was Maryland’s offensive coordinator before leaving to become the head coach at Vandy in December of 2010.  O’Brien was a member of Maryland’s 2009 recruiting class, was recruited by Franklin and maintained a relationship for the coach after his departure for the Commodores.  It doesn’t take a rocket surgeon to figure out the likely reason why the Maryland football program took the vindictive, petty road in keeping Vandy off O’Brien’s transfer table.

As noted, O’Brien can appeal Maryland’s decision to include Vandy in the list of schools to which he is not permitted to transfer.  It’s unclear whether the player will pursue that option.

Starting Navy S Kwazel Bertrand undergoes surgery, likely out for season

Kwazel Bertrand, Jacobi Owens
Associated Press
Leave a comment

Navy has seen one of its most productive players on the defensive side of the ball play for perhaps the final time this season.

Kwazel Bertrand sustained a broken ankle in the win over Air Force last Saturday, head coach Ken Niumatalolo confirmed earlier this week. As a result, the defensive back will very likely miss the remainder of the 2015 season.

And, because he is a senior and has no other eligibility avenues to pursue, it would effectively end his collegiate career as well.

“I feel terrible for Kwazel. It’s really unfortunate any time a senior goes down with a season-ending injury,” Niumatalolo said. “Kwazel has been a really good player for us and we’re going to miss his presence out on the field.”

Bertrand started 27 games over the past three-plus seasons, including all four in 2015.

Unitas Award whittles watch list in half down to 15

FORT WORTH, TX - OCTOBER 03:  Trevone Boykin #2 of the TCU Horned Frogs looks for an open receiver against the Texas Longhorns in the second quarter at Amon G. Carter Stadium on October 3, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)
Getty Images
1 Comment

You know how I know we’re gradually creeping up on the end of another regular season?  Watch lists are being whittled.

The first major honor to do so is the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which is given out annually to the best quarterback who is a college senior or fourth-year junior.  The preseason watch list was 30 quarterbacks strong; the newest list has been cut in half to 15.

The most recent list includes one of the top Heisman contenders (TCU’s Trevone Boykin) and the top two nationally in passing yards (Bowling Green’s Matt Johnson, Western Kentucky’s Brandon Doughty), as well as a quarterback who’s closing in on the all-time FBS record for rushing touchdowns (Navy’s Keenan Reynolds).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with three watch listers, followed by two each from the AAC, ACC and Big Ten.  The SEC has as many players (one, Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott) as the FCS (North Dakota State’s Carson Wentz).

Last year’s winner was Marcus Mariota of Oregon.

Trevone Boykin, TCU
Jacoby Brissett, NC State
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, WKU
Everett Golson, Florida State
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Cody Kessler, USC
Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana
Carson Wentz, N. Dakota State
Marquise Williams, North Carolina
Travis Wilson, Utah