Skip to content

Lutzenkirchen, Stoneburner highlight Mackey Award list

Dwayne Allen AP

Once again, our email inboxes have been stuffed with preseason award watch lists like gifts in Christmas Day stockings.

Up next is the Mackey Award, given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. The recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. This year’s winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

Among those on this year’s list include Auburn’s Phillip Lutzenkirchen, Ohio State’s Jake Stoneburner*, Florida’s Jordan Reed and Wisconsin’s Jacob Pedersen. 

(*Stoneburner is currently facing suspension following his arrest for peeing and fleeing)

Last year’s recipient was Clemson’s Dwayne Allen (pictured).

You can view all of the individual preseason watch lists in one handy repository HERE, and the entire Mackey Award watch list below:

Permalink 2 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Articles, Rumor Mill, Top Posts
2 Responses to “Lutzenkirchen, Stoneburner highlight Mackey Award list”
  1. seanmmartin says: Jul 10, 2012 6:05 PM

    Anyone remember this?

    (Sorry, don’t know how to embed it.)

  2. kozbee says: Jul 10, 2012 10:34 PM

    Lutz imo will win the Mackey.Heck of a ball player.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!