Jerrell Wedge, T.J. Moe

Mizzou WR T.J. Moe wins first SEC media day


Uh oh. Steve Spurrier has some competition. Or a long-lost son. Either one.

The HBC did manage to land one not-so-subtle jab during his time at the podium on the first SEC media day. “You think I make the schedules?” Spurrier retorted to a question. “If I made the schedules, Georgia would be playing LSU every year and we’d be playing Ole Miss.”

Naturally, Spurrier’s comment was met with plenty of laughter.

But it was Missouri wide receiver T.J. Moe doing his best Spurrier impression on Tuesday, firing off one-liner after one-liner and becoming a social media focal point in the process.

On the image of the SEC:
“They say girls are prettier here, air’s fresher & toilet paper is thicker.”

On his first SEC media days:
“It’s serious here. I wouldn’t be surprised if everybody was strapped with a gun here.”

On clarifying his comment:
“I am not strapped with a gun.”

On Mizzou’s location in the SEC:
“We’re about as midwest as it gets. This isn’t the Southeastern Conference….it’s the bottom right corner conference.”

On SEC defenses:
“In the Big 12, we put our best athletes on offense. [In the SEC], they put their best athletes on defense. Kansas will never have a chance to play in the SEC, (& even) they’re always hearing about how great SEC defense are.”

On A&M receiver Ryan Swope:
Apparently Ryan Swope is a god because he can come in and get first-team all-SEC. But that’s fine.”

It’s too bad Moe won’t be back for another round of SEC media days next year. The guy got a standing ovation by the media.

Starting Navy S Kwazel Bertrand undergoes surgery, likely out for season

Kwazel Bertrand, Jacobi Owens
Associated Press
Leave a comment

Navy has seen one of its most productive players on the defensive side of the ball play for perhaps the final time this season.

Kwazel Bertrand sustained a broken ankle in the win over Air Force last Saturday, head coach Ken Niumatalolo confirmed earlier this week. As a result, the defensive back will very likely miss the remainder of the 2015 season.

And, because he is a senior and has no other eligibility avenues to pursue, it would effectively end his collegiate career as well.

“I feel terrible for Kwazel. It’s really unfortunate any time a senior goes down with a season-ending injury,” Niumatalolo said. “Kwazel has been a really good player for us and we’re going to miss his presence out on the field.”

Bertrand started 27 games over the past three-plus seasons, including all four in 2015.

Unitas Award whittles watch list in half down to 15

FORT WORTH, TX - OCTOBER 03:  Trevone Boykin #2 of the TCU Horned Frogs looks for an open receiver against the Texas Longhorns in the second quarter at Amon G. Carter Stadium on October 3, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)
Getty Images
1 Comment

You know how I know we’re gradually creeping up on the end of another regular season?  Watch lists are being whittled.

The first major honor to do so is the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which is given out annually to the best quarterback who is a college senior or fourth-year junior.  The preseason watch list was 30 quarterbacks strong; the newest list has been cut in half to 15.

The most recent list includes one of the top Heisman contenders (TCU’s Trevone Boykin) and the top two nationally in passing yards (Bowling Green’s Matt Johnson, Western Kentucky’s Brandon Doughty), as well as a quarterback who’s closing in on the all-time FBS record for rushing touchdowns (Navy’s Keenan Reynolds).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with three watch listers, followed by two each from the AAC, ACC and Big Ten.  The SEC has as many players (one, Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott) as the FCS (North Dakota State’s Carson Wentz).

Last year’s winner was Marcus Mariota of Oregon.

Trevone Boykin, TCU
Jacoby Brissett, NC State
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, WKU
Everett Golson, Florida State
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Cody Kessler, USC
Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana
Carson Wentz, N. Dakota State
Marquise Williams, North Carolina
Travis Wilson, Utah