Skip to content

Montee Ball, Marcus Lattimore highlight 52 on Doak Walker watch list

Trent Richardson AP

We’re getting to the home stretch of the preseason watch list email inbox stuffing. Thank you for your patience.

Today’s watch list: the Doak Walker Award for the nation’s best running back. Among the 52 players on the list are last year’s semifinalist Montee Ball (Wisconsin), as well as Knile Davis (Arkansas) and Marcus Lattimore (South Carolina).

Interesting omission? Oregon’s De’Anthony Thomas.

Last year’s winner was Trent Richardson (Alabama).

You can view all of the individual preseason watch lists in one handy repository HERE, and the entire Doak Walker Award watch list below.

Michael Alisa, BYU
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Kenjon Barner, Oregon
Le’Veon Bell, Michigan State
Giovani Bernard, North Carolina
Rex Burkhead, Nebraska
Jesse Callier, Washington
Benny Cunningham, Middle Tennessee
Orleans Darkwa, Tulane
Knile Davis, Arkansas
Andre Ellington, Clemson
Johnathan Franklin, UCLA
Ray Graham, Pittsburgh
Gee Gee Greene, Navy
Jordan Hall, Ohio State
D.J. Harper, Boise State
John Hubert, Kansas State
Michael James, Miami
Waymon James, TCU
Nathan Jeffery, UTEP
Walter Kazee, San Diego State
Eddie Lacy, Alabama
Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina
Hunter Lee, Louisiana Tech
Zach Line, SMU
Raymond Maples, Army
Cameron Marshall, Arizona State
Onterio McCalebb, Auburn
Lyle McCombs, Connecticut
Curtis McNeal, USC
Christine Michael, Texas A&M
Latavius Murray, UCF
Branden Oliver, Buffalo
Joseph Randle, Oklahoma State
Silas Redd, Penn State
Kedrick Rhodes, FIU
Robbie Rouse, Fresno State
Jarred Salubi, Baylor
Anthon Samuel, Bowling Green
Orwin Smith, Georgia Tech
Isi Sofele, California
Shawn Southward, Troy
Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt
Eric Stephens, Texas Tech
Stepfan Taylor, Stanford
Fitzgerald Toussaint, Michigan
Matthew Tucker, TCU
James White, Iowa State
James White, Wisconsin
John White, Utah
Kerwynn Williams, Utah State
Cierre Wood, Notre Dame

Permalink 6 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Articles, Rumor Mill, Top Posts
6 Responses to “Montee Ball, Marcus Lattimore highlight 52 on Doak Walker watch list”
  1. texasbornlsufan says: Jul 19, 2012 2:23 PM

    The best collection of running backs at one school in the nation and not one of the LSU backs are listed. You can take 80% of the players listed here and they would not be starting if one of the current backs at LSU are on there team!

  2. jonkybon says: Jul 19, 2012 3:20 PM


    Yet your best, Spencer Ware, is listed as only the sixth best back in the SEC by the SEC coaches. What do they know? They didn’t ask to borrow your yellow tinted glasses. I very much dislike Spurrier and SC, but I’d take their stable of RB’s over LSU’s seven out of seven days of the week.

  3. floridacock says: Jul 19, 2012 4:26 PM

    I thought Knile Davis had already won the award, at least according to him.

  4. cheers4ablumpkin says: Jul 19, 2012 4:38 PM

    Why didn’t ball go pro?

  5. rocketmcstonebreaker says: Jul 19, 2012 4:56 PM

    I’m an ND guy, so I’m pulling for Cierre Wood, but I’m predicting Rex Burkhead as the eventual winner… I also think Stepfan Taylor and Eddie Lacy will be names to watch.

  6. ladyhuckleberry says: Aug 2, 2012 10:15 PM

    Hey texasbornlsufan, don’t give up Baby they may not have one on here but are you seein the other awards? Tyrann, Big Sam, and Eric are smokin on some other awards. We still have the class acts we’ve been blessed with thru the years. Just hang on it’ll all work out. GEAUX SWAMP TIGERS !!!!!!! Not to be confused with those that come from AU,hahaha.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!