As you may have seen and/or heard, Notre Dame’s thrilling overtime win over Stanford was not without controversy.
Following an Irish touchdown on its first possession of overtime that put the home-standing Domers up 20-13, Stanford proceeded to drive down inside the one-yard line and was facing a fourth-and-goal when Stepfan Taylor (no relation) was stuffed to preserve the Irish win. Or, depending on your fan colors, crossed the goal line, robbing the Cardinal of what would’ve been, pending a successful extra point, a score that sent the game into a second overtime.
In the NBC broadcast booth, color analyst Mike Mayock indicated that he had thought the ball had broken the plane of the goal line prior to either Taylor’s forward progress being stopped or his knee hitting the ground.
On Twitter, former NFL head of officiating and current FOX analyst Mike Pereira wrote that “[w]e have looked at ND/STA last play from every angle & feel that it is a TD. Progress was not ruled & runner was not down. Ball broke [plane].”
However, upon further review – by Pac-12 officials, incidentally — the ruling on the field was upheld, giving the Irish their sixth straight win to start the season and preserving their BcS hopes. The thing is, was it actually a stop by the Irish defense? See the clip below, starting at around the 1:20 mark:This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!
So, after viewing the highlight yet again, did the officials make the right call? Or, did the Cardinal get jobbed by officials from its own conference? Sound off like you got a pair below, and then head to the comments section to whine and/or bitch and/or moan.