Skip to content

Maxwell Award names semifinalists

Barkley Lee AP

After releasing its revamped watch list exactly a month ago yesterday, the Maxwell Award has pared down that 78-player-strong list rather significantly.

The prestigious award announced Monday its list of semifinalists, which consists of 16 players spread across five conferences and one independent program.

The only player to repeat as a semifinalist is USC quarterback Matt Barkley.  USC — Barkley and wide receiver Marqise Lee — and Oregon — running backs Kenjon Barner and DeAnthony Thomas — were the only schools with more than one player to make the semifinal cut.

Seven quarterbacks and six running backs made the cut, as did a pair of players from the defensive side of the ball — Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones.

The Pac-12 led all conferences with five semifinalists, followed by the SEC with four and the ACC, Big Ten and Big 12 with two apiece.  There were no schools outside the “BcS” conferences represented on the list.

The three finalists will be announced Nov. 19, with the 76th Maxwell to be awarded Dec. 6.  Last year’s winner was Stanford’s Andrew Luck.

Permalink 8 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, Atlantic Coast Conference, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Florida Gators, Florida State Seminoles, Georgia Bulldogs, Independents, Kansas State Wildcats, North Carolina Tar Heels, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, Ohio State Buckeyes, Oregon Ducks, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Texas A&M Aggies, Top Posts, UCLA Bruins, USC Trojans, West Virginia Mountaineers, Wisconsin Badgers
8 Responses to “Maxwell Award names semifinalists”
  1. rsmeans says: Oct 30, 2012 9:30 AM

    The Maxwell award is one of the worse is sports with build in bias for the PAC

  2. rsmeans says: Oct 30, 2012 9:31 AM

    The Maxwell award has historically and at the present been one of the worse in sports with build in bias towards some conferences and against other conferences.

  3. 8to80texansblog says: Oct 30, 2012 10:58 AM

    Johnny Football!!! How long has it been since the Aggies had a Maxwell Finalist! And a Freshman too! Gig ’em! #BeatTheHellOuttaMississippiState

  4. calmdownandthink says: Oct 30, 2012 11:45 AM


    Maxwell Award winners by school:

    School Winners
    Penn State 7
    Notre Dame 6
    Navy 4
    Ohio State 4
    Texas 4
    Army 3
    Florida 3
    Miami 3
    Pennsylvania 3
    USC 3
    Georgia 2
    Iowa 2
    Michigan 2
    Oklahoma 2
    Pittsburgh 2
    Stanford 2
    Auburn 1
    Boston College 1
    BYU 1
    Columbia 1
    Cornell 1
    Florida State 1
    Indiana 1
    Michigan State 1
    Nebraska 1
    Oklahoma State 1
    Ole Miss 1
    Oregon State 1
    Princeton 1
    Purdue 1
    Rutgers 1
    SMU 1
    Syracuse 1
    TCU 1
    Temple 1
    Tennessee 1
    UCLA 1
    Virginia 1
    Wisconsin 1
    Yale 1

    Penn State has as many winners (7) as the entire PAC12.

  5. themanwhoneverreturned says: Oct 30, 2012 11:57 AM

    Maxwell is unnecessary. Dreamed up b y a bunch of Philadelphia lawyers. Tremendously biased toward State Penn….or is it Penn State

    Heisman is the real deal.

  6. mrslay1 says: Oct 30, 2012 2:02 PM

    The fact that Barkley is still there is proof enough for the bias in this so called award.

  7. irishdodger says: Oct 30, 2012 7:17 PM

    With Barkley & Ball having uninspiring seasons, this must be another “Lifetime Achievement Award”. I always thought of it as the award that went to the player that got screwed out of the Heisman.

  8. abrellbama says: Oct 31, 2012 2:34 AM

    Congrats to all the players that made the list.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!