Skip to content

Bill Hancock announces that Rose, Sugar will be first semifinal sites

Bill Hancock, Charles Steger AP

Next year’s BCS championship will be the final game of the current postseason format for college football before a four-team playoff takes effect. On Tuesday, Bill Hancock, the playoff’s new executive director and current leader of the BCS by the same title, provided more details of what the playoff will look like.

Confirming previous reports from ESPN and CBSSports, Hancock announced that the Rose and Sugar Bowls will act as the first national semifinal sites for the 2015 edition of the new postseason system. As expected, the Rose and Sugar will be paired together for the semifinal sites in 2015, 2018, 2021 and 2024.

The Orange Bowl and another TBD host bowl (believed to be either the Fiesta or Cotton Bowl) will pair as semifinal sites in 2016, 2019, 2022 and 2025. Two more host bowls will be paired as semifinal sites in 2017, 2020, 2023 and 2026. It is thought that the Cotton, Chick-fil-A and Fiesta Bowls will be the other three host sites. That should become official in April.

Since the Rose and Sugar Bowls are slotted for New Year’s Day, the national semifinals will be played on New Year’s Even eight out of the next 12 years. Of course, those dates would be modified slightly if either fell on a Sunday.

(Info courtesy of ESPN’s Brett McMurphy and Pac-12’s Bryan Fischer) 

Permalink 3 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Rumor Mill, Top Posts
3 Responses to “Bill Hancock announces that Rose, Sugar will be first semifinal sites”
  1. olskool711 says: Jan 8, 2013 3:24 PM

    Is there anyway CFT can get one of their web guys to open Photoshop and take a picture of Grey Alien Head Hancock, Jim Delaney, and E. Gordon Gee and put them all together?

    We can then label the picture, Ever Wonder Why College Football Has Declined Despite Being the Greatest Game on Earth? Who Screwed the Pooch?

    Seriously, take pictures of the three and put them together.

    Scary thought.

  2. mhalt99 says: Jan 8, 2013 3:33 PM

    looking forward to DJANGO 2066, when ex college football players of all different races seek revenge upon those who became extremely rich off of their blood sweat and tears for a few years of room, meals and board and in some cases a worthless piece of paper.

  3. wopgenius says: Jan 9, 2013 7:22 AM

    Playoffs diminish the regular season. Have they determined how they will pick the 4 teams yet? Conference Champions still won’t guarantee that you get the 4 best playing each other. If you take the top 4 in the polls then you have nothing more than what the BCS is now. Only difference is that the BCS gets #1 vs. #2 in the polls in the championship game every time.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!