Skip to content

Tavon Austin named Johnny Rodgers Award winner

Shamarko Thomas, Tavon Austin AP

Over two months after leaving West Virginia for the NFL, the awards are still trickling in for Tavon Austin.

Austin, it was announced Monday, has been named the winner of the 2012 Johnny Rodgers Award.  The award is given to the nation’s top return specialist, and Austin certainly fits that description.

Last season, Austin averaged 25.4 yards per kick return (29th in the nation) and 12.7 on punt returns (would’ve been 15th if he qualified).  He returned one kick and one punt for a touchdowns, while leading the nation in all-purpose yards.

He had previously been named as the Paul Hornung Award winner, given annually to the most versatile player in the country.

The award is named for legendary former Nebraska Cornhusker and 1972 Heisman winner Johnny Rodgers.  Austin will be feted at an awards banquet April 4 in Omaha.

This is the second year the award has been handed out.  The 2012 winner was Arkansas’ Joe Adams.

Permalink 3 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Rumor Mill, Top Posts, West Virginia Mountaineers
3 Responses to “Tavon Austin named Johnny Rodgers Award winner”
  1. parkcityute says: Mar 12, 2013 1:57 PM

    Tavon deserved it from the game performances I saw of him…all purpose yards…that is what I look at and he was the king last season.

  2. thraiderskin says: Mar 12, 2013 2:36 PM

    good for this kid, but doesn’t that award sound like it has something to do with pirates?

  3. ldbmountaineer says: Mar 12, 2013 8:32 PM

    Good luck in the future. You have sure been fun to watch the last 4 years in Mountaineer land.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!