Skip to content

Carey, Yeldon among 63 RBs on Doak Walker Award preseason watch list

Joe Gilliam, Montee Ball AP

Oh, you know. Just another preseason watch list coming your way.

The Doak Walker Award, given annually to college football’s most outstanding running back, released its preseason watch list on Friday with 63 candidates. Among those to be included were Arizona’s Ka’Deem Carey, who was the nation’s leading rusher in 2012, Miami’s Duke Johnson, Oregon’s De’Anthony Thomas and Alabama’s T.J. Yeldon.

The winner of the Doak Walker Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12. Last year’s winner was Wisconsin’s Montee Ball.

As always, you can view the entire list of preseason candidates below. You can now also check out our preseason watch lists repository HERE.

Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
Michael Alisa, BYU
Antonio Andrews, Western Kentucky
Dri Archer, Kent State
Brendan Bigelow, California
Beau Blankenship, Ohio
Alfred Blue, LSU
Dominique Brown, Louisville
Ka’Deem Carey, Arizona
B.J. Catalon, TCU
Orleans Darkwa, Tulane
Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech
Trayion Durham, Kent State
Jahwan Edwards, Ball State
David Fluellen, Toledo
D.J. Foster, Arizona State
Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
Marion Grice, Arizona State
Todd Gurley, Georgia
Joe Hill, Utah State
John Hubert, Kansas State
Carlos Hyde, Ohio State
Waymon James, TCU
Duke Johnson, Miami
Storm Johnson, UCF
Matt Jones, Florida
Henry Josey, Missouri
Ben Malena, Texas A&M
Raymond Maples, Army
Venric Mark, Northwestern
Keith Marshall, Georgia
Glasco Martin, Baylor
Tre Mason, Auburn
Lyle McCombs, Connecticut
Adam Muema, San Diego State
David Oku, Arkansas State
Branden Oliver, Buffalo
Jordan Parker, Middle Tennessee
LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
Senorise Perry, Louisville
Christian Powell, Colorado
Darrin Reaves, UAB
Silas Redd, USC
Bishop Sankey, Washington
Lache Seastrunk, Baylor
David Sims, Georgia Tech
James Sims, Kansas
Kiero Small, Arkansas
Jeremy Smith, Oklahoma State
Jerome Smith, Syracuse
De’Anthony Thomas, Oregon
Zurlon Tipton, Central Michigan
Trey Watts, Tulsa
Mark Weisman, Iowa
James White, Iowa State
James White, Wisconsin
Andre Williams, Boston College
Damien Williams, Oklahoma
Jamaal Williams, BYU
Jonathan Williams, Arkansas
Storm Woods, Oregon State
T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
Zach Zwinak, Penn State

Permalink 6 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Rumor Mill, Top Posts
6 Responses to “Carey, Yeldon among 63 RBs on Doak Walker Award preseason watch list”
  1. weswelkerspornstash says: Jul 18, 2013 1:45 PM


  2. 8to80texansblog says: Jul 18, 2013 1:51 PM

    Malena at A&M doesn’t have a shot… Manziel will might lead the team in rushing again, and the Aggies have a large stable of backs that will all split the load…

    Malena should be happy if he breaks 1k… and 1k does not a Doak Walker get…

  3. xlax1306 says: Jul 18, 2013 3:31 PM

    Any rhyme or reason to who is bolded and who isn’t?

  4. kiopta1 says: Jul 18, 2013 3:32 PM

    I would add George Atkinson III to the this if only for his speed and strong running Oline in front of him.

  5. chex1868 says: Jul 19, 2013 12:15 AM

    Kasey Carrier puts up ~1500 yds and 15 TDs on a garbage UNM team last year and isn’t included in this huge list? I’m no Lobo fan but Carrier is getting screwed.

  6. dg0122 says: Jul 19, 2013 8:17 AM

    no johnathan gray?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!