Skip to content

Award named in honor of Earl Campbell releases inaugural watch list

Earl Campbell Getty Images

(Apologies; forgot to post this yesterday)

Just like bowl games, there’s another new postseason award that will be handed out after the end of the 2013 regular season.

After announcing its creation last August, the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, by way of the Tyler Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler, revealed Wednesday its inaugural watch list.  The initial group of players released by the Campbell Award consists of 35 players.

While the award ostensibly goes to the top offensive player in the country, it’s very much a Texas-centric trophy.  The release states that “the winner must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year college.”

As a result of that criteria, nine of the players are from the Big 12, while a total of 14 are from Texas-based FBS football programs.  The Pac-12 has five players on the list, while the Big Ten, Conference USA and Mountain West have four apiece.  One of the three SEC players to watch is, obviously, Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel.

A total of 13 running backs were recognized, followed by quarterbacks (10), wide receivers (eight), offensive linemen (three) and tight end (one).

The newest award is named in honor of, of course, the former Texas Longhorn legend and College Football Hall of Famer.  He earned the nickname “the Tyler Rose” coming out of high school in the Texas city.

Below is the inaugural Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list:

· Ross Apo, BYU, WR
· David Ash, Texas, QB
· Kolton Browning, Louisiana-Monroe, QB
· Damon Bullock, Iowa, RB
· Shane Carden, East Carolina, QB
· Kasey Carrier, New Mexico, RB
· Tim Cornett, UNLV, RB
· Cody Davis, Purdue, OG
· Adam Dingwell, San Diego State, QB
· Cameron Fleming, Stanford, OT
· James Franklin, Missouri, QB
· Keyarris Garrett, Tulsa, WR
· Ryan Grant, Tulane, WR
· Deontay Greenbury, Houston, WR
· Marion Grice, Arizona State, RB
· John Hubert, Kansas State, RB
· Nathan Jeffrey, UTEP, RB
· Jeremy Johnson, SMU, WR
· Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, QB
· Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, QB
· Venric Mark, Northwestern, RB
· Ty Montgomery, Stanford, WR
· Casey Pachall, TCU, QB
· Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, RB
· Charles Sims, West Virginia, RB
· James Sims, Kansas, RB
· Eric Soza, UTSA, QB
· Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State, WR
· Travis Swanson, Arkansas, C
· Zachary Swanson, Virginia, TE
· Eric Ward, Texas Tech, WR
· James White, Iowa State, RB
· Rodrick Williams Jr., Minnesota, RB
· Connor Wood, Colorado, QB
· Storm Woods, Oregon State, RB

Permalink 5 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Conference USA, Mountain West Conference, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts
5 Responses to “Award named in honor of Earl Campbell releases inaugural watch list”
  1. rolltide510 says: Aug 23, 2013 6:12 PM

    Kind of a dumb idea for an award I’m afraid. When I clicked the link I figured it would be the annual award for the largest thighs in CFB.

  2. bertenheim says: Aug 23, 2013 7:24 PM

    Limit those eligible to RBs over 215 lbs.

  3. Walk says: Aug 24, 2013 9:19 AM

    I cannot wait for more of these type awards. Coming soon the Rhode island red award, awarded to the greatest offensive player in the world who has never left rhode island.

  4. cardmagnet says: Aug 24, 2013 10:29 AM

    Meh. Outside of Texas, will anyone really care about this award? It’s too specific to have any real meaning to the football community as a whole. A few years from now after the award has been around long enough to have multiple winners (assuming it lives that long), I’d wager the average fan outside of Texas couldn’t name half of the winners.

  5. dcroz says: Aug 24, 2013 1:37 PM

    They had to find some way to make an award where the SEC didn’t have the most players on the watch list.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!