Connor Cook

Dantonio: No more QB competition, Cook is starter

1 Comment

We probably should hold off on going overboard about Michigan State’s blowout win against Youngstown State (55-17), but after the first few weeks of the season it was encouraging for Spartan fans to see Michigan State finally discover their offense. After the game, Michigan State head coach Mark Dantonio said the search for a quarterback is also over. Connor Cook‘s second start of the season was enough to convince the Spartans coach who will be leading the offense moving forward.

According to Joe Rexrode, Michigan State football beat writer for the Detroit Free Press, Dantonio said the competition has been closed and Cook will be the number one quarterback for the Spartans until further notice. Cook had gone 15-of-22 for 202 yards and four touchdowns and he rushed for 25 yards.  Two of Cook’s touchdown passes came in the first quarter to put Michigan State up 21-3. The Spartans had scored 21 points the previous week against South Florida and just 26 points in the season opener against Western Michigan. The entire offense had combined for two touchdowns this season entering the day as well.

Cook’s next start will be next week when Michigan State heads to South Bend, Indiana to take on Notre Dame. Notre Dame’s defense did not fare so well the last time we saw them in Ann arbor against Michigan, but after witnessing Michigan struggle to escape at home against Akron we can probably throw all logic out the window at this point.

Starting Navy S Kwazel Bertrand undergoes surgery, likely out for season

Kwazel Bertrand, Jacobi Owens
Associated Press
Leave a comment

Navy has seen one of its most productive players on the defensive side of the ball play for perhaps the final time this season.

Kwazel Bertrand sustained a broken ankle in the win over Air Force last Saturday, head coach Ken Niumatalolo confirmed earlier this week. As a result, the defensive back will very likely miss the remainder of the 2015 season.

And, because he is a senior and has no other eligibility avenues to pursue, it would effectively end his collegiate career as well.

“I feel terrible for Kwazel. It’s really unfortunate any time a senior goes down with a season-ending injury,” Niumatalolo said. “Kwazel has been a really good player for us and we’re going to miss his presence out on the field.”

Bertrand started 27 games over the past three-plus seasons, including all four in 2015.

Unitas Award whittles watch list in half down to 15

FORT WORTH, TX - OCTOBER 03:  Trevone Boykin #2 of the TCU Horned Frogs looks for an open receiver against the Texas Longhorns in the second quarter at Amon G. Carter Stadium on October 3, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)
Getty Images
1 Comment

You know how I know we’re gradually creeping up on the end of another regular season?  Watch lists are being whittled.

The first major honor to do so is the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which is given out annually to the best quarterback who is a college senior or fourth-year junior.  The preseason watch list was 30 quarterbacks strong; the newest list has been cut in half to 15.

The most recent list includes one of the top Heisman contenders (TCU’s Trevone Boykin) and the top two nationally in passing yards (Bowling Green’s Matt Johnson, Western Kentucky’s Brandon Doughty), as well as a quarterback who’s closing in on the all-time FBS record for rushing touchdowns (Navy’s Keenan Reynolds).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with three watch listers, followed by two each from the AAC, ACC and Big Ten.  The SEC has as many players (one, Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott) as the FCS (North Dakota State’s Carson Wentz).

Last year’s winner was Marcus Mariota of Oregon.

Trevone Boykin, TCU
Jacoby Brissett, NC State
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, WKU
Everett Golson, Florida State
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Cody Kessler, USC
Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana
Carson Wentz, N. Dakota State
Marquise Williams, North Carolina
Travis Wilson, Utah