Skip to content

ACC not sure if NC State was out-of-bounds vs Clemson or not

Clemson v North Carolina State Getty Images

For those who missed the Thursday night football game between North Carolina State and Clemson, there was a pretty controversial play that went against the home team and may have set off a sequence of events that changed the outcome of the football game. Nearly 24 hours later, the ACC is still uncertain if the play was called correctly or not.

The play in question came in the third quarter when North Carolina State running back Bryan Underwood swept to the right side of the field and appeared to run the entire length of the football field for a touchdown, which would have given the home team the lead Instead of an 83-yard touchdown run, Underwood was ruled out-of-bounds after a 36-yard gain. The play was not challenged by North Carolina State, nor was it overturned by an official video review. This is an overhead shot of the controversial call, at the point where it is believed to have raised a question.

“In last night’s Clemson at NC State game, the official ruled the runner stepped out-of-bounds and whistled the ball dead,” ACC coordinator of officials Doug Rhoads said in a statement, according to ESPN.com. “In conformance with NCAA guidelines, the replay official properly recognized the play as one that was not eligible for review.”

The play not being one eligible for a review would have prevented North Carolina State from challenging the play anyway. A couple plays later North Carolina State fumbled away the football to Clemson’s defense, and the Tigers soon cashed in with a demoralizing touchdown to pad their lead in what turned out to be a 14-point swing.

“Our office has viewed all available angles, each numerous times, in slow motion and freeze frame,” Rhodes explained in his statement. “It is not clear, in reviewing all angles, whether the runner stepped out-of-bounds or avoided any contact with the sideline. We recognize that within the number of images and angles viewed, some look like he did not step out-of-bounds while one looks like he did step out-of-bounds. In the end, this cannot be resolved beyond all doubt.”

Here is the video originally shared here on Thursday. You make the call.

Permalink 16 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Atlantic Coast Conference, Clemson Tigers, NC State Wolfpack, Rumor Mill, Top Posts
16 Responses to “ACC not sure if NC State was out-of-bounds vs Clemson or not”
  1. earpaniac says: Sep 20, 2013 7:31 PM

    IMO, it doesn’t look like there’s any question he stayed in bounds.

  2. totallysirius says: Sep 20, 2013 8:04 PM

    There is green between his feet and the chalk the whole way down the field.

    Definitely a blown call.

  3. barkleyblows says: Sep 20, 2013 8:13 PM

    Maybe I missed something but why isn’t anyone talking about the thug with the cheap shot? He should be suspended for the year and have jail time.

  4. barnesaintnoble says: Sep 20, 2013 8:15 PM

    It is a blown call, but he didn’t need to be that close to the sideline. You are playing #3, little things like that make a huge difference. Run along the 1-yard markers, that’s as close as you should get unless the play requires you push it closer.

  5. necr0philia says: Sep 20, 2013 8:37 PM

    Wow how could they have not gotten that call right. It’s clear he was in! All the money the NCAA and these Colleges make there should be no reason for cameras not to cover every square inch of the football field.

  6. tmb333 says: Sep 20, 2013 9:57 PM

    So much money the conferences have to make sure their top team wins to stay in the BSC race. The league benefitted from this mistake.

  7. thefiesty1 says: Sep 20, 2013 10:27 PM

    Benefit of the doubt. Don’t take away a TD on a blown call. I thought all scoring plays were reviewed.

  8. be4bama says: Sep 20, 2013 10:41 PM

    Why wasn’t it reviewed is what I’d like to know!!!

  9. classyjacklambert says: Sep 20, 2013 11:29 PM

    He was probably in bounds. They should’ve let the play go the distance and then reviewed it instead of calling it dead.

  10. normtide says: Sep 20, 2013 11:40 PM

    The whistle was blown. That stops the play and then, makes a review impossible. Players stop chasing when they hear the whistle. It was a blown call, but the game is fast. Calls are spilt second in a game of speed. If anything, they should let it play out, so it can be reviewed. Ofc, that could cause problems because of the need for irrefutable evidence. Instant replay isn’t perfect, but it beats the old days.

  11. Anoesis says: Sep 21, 2013 2:25 AM

    If it wasn’t reviewable during the game (and what point is there in having review at all if not for plays like this?) then why are they wasting time looking at it now?

    Is the general incompetence and vacillation in college football a product of top-down mismanagement, or does the NCAA get it from its conferences?

  12. floridacock says: Sep 21, 2013 9:20 AM

    It is not reviewable during the game because the whistle had blown. They can not reverse a call when they have told all players the play was dead and to stop. Unfortunate, especially for a blown call on a score. These late time out calls from the bench are BS also. Clemson has shown they will be beaten.

  13. classyjacklambert says: Sep 21, 2013 10:31 AM

    Floridacock you are obsessed with Clemson… or the most insecure person in the world.

  14. sanduskyshowerboy says: Sep 21, 2013 12:26 PM

    Acc refs are absolutely the worst. See fsu miami 2012

  15. oj228 says: Sep 21, 2013 12:27 PM

    There are two refs shown running with the play, one in fowl territory tracked the play to the endzone and signaled touchdown.

    It must have been the trailing ref that blew the whistle. If that is the case, go back and look at what was happening behind the play at the time of the alledged foot on the line. #88 was blocking a Clemson player on the sideline in front of that ref. If he is the ref that made the call, then he should not have made it because he was momentarily screened from seeing the play.

    Therefore, it is not so much did he or didn’t he step on the line. It was more of a was the trailing ref in position to watch and call the said play. It appears to me that he was probably screened for all or part of the duration when the runner was tiptoeing down the sideline and the ref should not have whistled the play dead.

  16. dgmcallister20 says: Sep 21, 2013 8:47 PM

    Definetely a blown call.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!