Logo No. 2 of four

49ers bid on 2017 college football championship game


Minneapolis wants to host the 2017 college football championship game. So do the San Francisco 49ers, who hope to be able to host the game in their new football stadium located in Santa Clara. The San Jose Mercury News reports the defending NFC champions are bidding on just the 2017 championship game, a year after hosting the Super Bowl, and only the 2017 game.

The details of the Bay Area bid are private but officials say they are mostly following the blueprint from their plans to host the Super Bowl. Tens of thousands of hotel rooms would be set aside, extra police officers will be brought in and special public transit and freeway plans would be set up. Convention centers and local facilities, mostly in Santa Clara and San Jose, would be set aside to host a week of events.

The site of the new championship game is up for bid on a city by city basis, as opposed to having the BCS bowl games serve as the host for a championship game on a rotating basis. The process is modeled similarly to the bidding process for the NFL’s Super Bowl, and the College Football Playoff committee will be looking for many of the same qualities for any city vying to host their new championship game. That includes a stadium with at least 65,000 seats, a number that will easily be met by the new home of the 49ers.

Other cities interested in hosting future college football championship games include Miami, New Orleans and Atlanta.

Starting Navy S Kwazel Bertrand undergoes surgery, likely out for season

Kwazel Bertrand, Jacobi Owens
Associated Press
Leave a comment

Navy has seen one of its most productive players on the defensive side of the ball play for perhaps the final time this season.

Kwazel Bertrand sustained a broken ankle in the win over Air Force last Saturday, head coach Ken Niumatalolo confirmed earlier this week. As a result, the defensive back will very likely miss the remainder of the 2015 season.

And, because he is a senior and has no other eligibility avenues to pursue, it would effectively end his collegiate career as well.

“I feel terrible for Kwazel. It’s really unfortunate any time a senior goes down with a season-ending injury,” Niumatalolo said. “Kwazel has been a really good player for us and we’re going to miss his presence out on the field.”

Bertrand started 27 games over the past three-plus seasons, including all four in 2015.

Unitas Award whittles watch list in half down to 15

FORT WORTH, TX - OCTOBER 03:  Trevone Boykin #2 of the TCU Horned Frogs looks for an open receiver against the Texas Longhorns in the second quarter at Amon G. Carter Stadium on October 3, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)
Getty Images
1 Comment

You know how I know we’re gradually creeping up on the end of another regular season?  Watch lists are being whittled.

The first major honor to do so is the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which is given out annually to the best quarterback who is a college senior or fourth-year junior.  The preseason watch list was 30 quarterbacks strong; the newest list has been cut in half to 15.

The most recent list includes one of the top Heisman contenders (TCU’s Trevone Boykin) and the top two nationally in passing yards (Bowling Green’s Matt Johnson, Western Kentucky’s Brandon Doughty), as well as a quarterback who’s closing in on the all-time FBS record for rushing touchdowns (Navy’s Keenan Reynolds).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with three watch listers, followed by two each from the AAC, ACC and Big Ten.  The SEC has as many players (one, Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott) as the FCS (North Dakota State’s Carson Wentz).

Last year’s winner was Marcus Mariota of Oregon.

Trevone Boykin, TCU
Jacoby Brissett, NC State
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, WKU
Everett Golson, Florida State
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Cody Kessler, USC
Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana
Carson Wentz, N. Dakota State
Marquise Williams, North Carolina
Travis Wilson, Utah