Mack Brown

Big 12: no video evidence to overturn controversial call

63 Comments

For those who felt the officiating crew in last night’s Texas game screwed Iowa State, the Big 12’s response to the apparent gaffe will make you seethe a little more.

Late in the fourth quarter, Longhorns running back Johnathan Gray appeared to fumble inside the five-yard line, with an Iowa State defender recovering with nothing but 95 yards between himself and what would’ve likely been the game-clinching touchdown with under two minutes remaining.  However, Gray was ruled down by contact and the call on the field stood upon further review in the replay booth.

One play later, UT scored what would prove to be the game-winning touchdown with :51 remaining.

The Internet proceeded to explode over what was viewed as an egregiously bad call.  Rightly so, ISU head coach Paul Rhoads exploded in his post-game press conference as well.

“To make a play on the 1-yard line with our backs against the wall… and to have it taken away from them, that’s hard to express. You don’t just put an arm around a guy and tell him it’s OK when that happens to him,” said Rhoads. “I’ve got pretty good eyesight. The view I had of that gigantic screen in the north end zone showed a guy that was not down and our guy with the football.”

The Big 12, though, disagreed.  In a statement, the conference claimed that there simply wasn’t any video evidence to overturn the call on the field.

The ruling made on the goal line play was that the runner was down by rule with the ball.  Because of that ruling, instant replay is allowed to review the play, which it did.  Had the ruling on the field been forward progress, the play would not be reviewable because the goal line was not involved.  The Replay Official looked at all five views available for this play: Line Feed, Goal Line cart, Press Box angle, Sky Cam, and Opposite End Zone camera.  He correctly determined there was no indisputable video evidence to confirm that either the ruling on the field was correct, or that the ball was loose prior to the runner being down.  By rule when there is not indisputable video evidence to confirm or change the call on the field, the ruling stands.

On this play, the covering official ruled the runner was down and still had control of the ball. There is no question the runner ends up on the ground, and there is no question that eventually an Iowa State player ends up with the ball.  However, after reviewing the video evidence it is impossible to tell with certainty when the runner loses control of the ball and at that point was he down or not. 
   
The conference would acknowledge in this unique situation if a mistake were made, but we do not have the video evidence to prove that one occurred.

[/Giant wanking motion]

Of course, the conference acknowledging that one of its officiating crews made a mistake wouldn’t have changed the outcome, but, as was the case in the botched ending of the Wisconsin-Arizona State game a couple of weeks ago, it would’ve shown some accountability on the part of the league.

In addition to the statement on the blown call, the Big 12 also addressed Mike Davisbush-league “block” on a Cyclones player by stating that “[t]he play involving Mr. Davis is being addressed in accord with the Conference’s Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct Policy.”

Dylan Sumner-Gardner adds four-game suspension to rocky Boise State résumé

PROVO, UT - SEPTEMBER 12: Mitchell Juergens #87 of the Brigham Young Cougars catches this 4th down, 4th quarter go ahead touchdown between defenders Darian Thompson #4 and Dylan Sumner-Gardner #29 of the Boise State Broncos at LaVell Edwards Stadium on September 12, 2015 in Provo, Utah. BYU won 35-24. (Photo by Gene Sweeney Jr/Getty Images)
Getty Images
Leave a comment

The roller coaster career of Dylan Sumner-Gardner at Boise State is on a downward trajectory yet again.

Tuesday, Boise announced that Sumner-Gardner (pictured, No. 29) has been suspended for the first four games of the 2016 season.  According to the school’s release, the suspension stems from the defensive back “failing to meet NCAA football academic eligibility requirements.”

Sumner-Gardner will kiss games against Louisiana-Lafayette, Washington State, Oregon State and Utah State.  Provided the current timeline holds, Sumner-Gardner would be eligible to return for the New Mexico game Oct. 7.

After playing in 13 games as a true freshman, Sumner-Gardner started the first four games last year before going down with a season-ending ankle injury.  In November he was arrested on a misdemeanor drug charge, then didn’t travel to BSU’s Poinsettia Bowl win over Northern Illinois in late December because of what was described as an unspecified violation of team rules.  His status for the upcoming season has been a question mark throughout the offseason.

Sumner-Gardner, a four-star 2014 prospect who was the Broncos’ highest-rated recruit in that class, had been a projected starter at safety; with the junior sidelined, Cameron Hartsfield is listed as the starter instead.

Heart condition forces Okla. St.’s Josh Mabin to retire

STILLWATER, OK - SEPTEMBER 25:   An Oklahoma State Cowboys flag billows before the game against the Texas Tech Red Raiders September 25, 2014 at Boone Pickens Stadium in Stillwater, Oklahoma.  (Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images)
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Sadly, a non-football health issue will bring to an end Josh Mabin‘s football-playing career.

On his personal Twitter account, Mabin announced that he will be forced to retire from the sport due to a diagnosis of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.  The Mayo Clinic’s website describes the disease as one in which “the heart muscle (myocardium) becomes abnormally thick (hypertrophied),” with the thickened heart muscle making it harder for the heart to pump blood.  The condition could cause “problems in the heart’s electrical system, resulting in life-threatening abnormal heart rhythms (arrhythmias).”

Oklahoma State has yet to publicly address the linebacker’s status with the program moving forward.

It’s likely Mabin will remain on scholarship at OSU, but won’t count against the Cowboys’ 85-man limit.

A four-star 2014 recruit, Mabin was rated as the No. 18 inside linebacker in the country and the No. 54 player at any position in the state of Texas.  After redshirting as a true freshman, Mabin played in five games last season.  He was credited with four tackles in that limited action.

Mabin was listed as the backup middle linebacker to starter Chad Whitener on the depth chart OSU released last week.

Arrested Auburn S Stephen Roberts suspended for opener vs. Clemson

COLLEGE STATION, TX - NOVEMBER 07:  Stephen Roberts #14 of the Auburn Tigers is called for pass interference on Christian Kirk #3 of the Texas A&M Aggies in the fourth quarter at Kyle Field on November 7, 2015 in College Station, Texas.  (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images)
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Facing the best quarterback in the country, Auburn will need all hands on deck in the secondary for the opener.  Unfortunately for the SEC Tigers, that won’t be the case.

Late last week, Stephen Roberts was arrested following a traffic stop and charged with attempting to elude a police officer and possession of a firearm without a permit.  Tuesday, head coach Gus Malzahn confirmed that the defensive back will be suspended for Saturday’s season opener against No. 2 Clemson.

It’s uncertain if Roberts will return for the following Saturday’s game against Arkansas State as Malzahn labeled the suspension “week-to-week.”

Roberts played in 13 games last season, starting the final four games of the year.  He was expected to start at one of the safety positions for the Tigers this season.

Both of the charges Roberts is facing are misdemeanors.  His first court appearance is currently scheduled for Nov. 17.

Alabama’s Alphonse Taylor found not guilty of DUI

ATLANTA, GA - DECEMBER 06:  Alphonse Taylor #50 of the Alabama Crimson Tide celebrates their 42 to 13 win over the Missouri Tigers in the SEC Championship game at the Georgia Dome on December 6, 2014 in Atlanta, Georgia.  (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
Getty Images
3 Comments

It appears the door is wide open for Alphonse Taylor‘s unfettered return to the playing field when Alabama kicks off the new season this weekend.  Maybe

Stephanie Taylor of the Tuscaloosa News was the first to report that Taylor had been not guilty of driving under the influence.  Al.com subsequently confirmed the news.

The offensive lineman was arrested and charged with driving under the influence and leaving the scene of an accident last month.  It was subsequently reported that Taylor, who called police himself to notify them that he had hit another vehicle, took two breathalyzer tests and both came back at 0.0.

“Of course I am pleased with this verdict,” Taylor’s attorney, Jason Neff, told the News. “I hope Mr. Taylor will have an opportunity to move forward with his football career.”

Neff added that “[t]he judge is expected to issue a ruling on the leaving the scene of an accident charge after the vehicle that was struck has been repaired,” the News wrote.

It was announced the day after his arrest that Taylor had been indefinitely suspended, although he has since been permitted to practice with the team.  His status for Saturday’s opener against USC is unclear at the moment.

A redshirt senior, Taylor has played in 35 games during his time in Tuscaloosa, starting 17 of those contests.  15 of his starts came at right guard during the Tide’s run to the title in 2015.

Last month, the media tabbed the redshirt senior as second-team preseason All-SEC.