Skip to content

More pieces being added to playoff committee puzzle

Jeff Long AP

Over the last couple of days, it’s been reported that four athletic directors — West Virginia’s Oliver Luck, Clemson’s Dan Radakovich, Wisconsin’s Barry Alvarez and USC’s Pat Haden — would be part of the playoff selection committee when it’s announced later this year.

As of Friday morning, you can add two more names to the list.  Reportedly.

According to Brett McMurphy of, Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long and former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese will be part of the selection committee that will determine the four teams who will make up the field of the new College Football Playoff.  With Long’s apparent selection, all of the so-called “Big Five” conferences are now represented.

The committee, likely to be 12-18 members strong, is expected to consist of those current athletic directors, plus former administrators, ex-head coaches and, perhaps, a member or members of the media.  No current head coaches or conference commissioners are permitted on the committee.

Interestingly, McMurphy also reports that the full playoff committee is expected to be officially announced on Nov. 11 in Washington, D.C.  It had previously been reported that such an announcement would not be in the offing until early December at the earliest.

The new system for determining a national champion will be in place following the 2014 regular season, with the first title game being played at the Dallas Cowboys’ stadium in Arlington.

Permalink 2 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Arkansas Razorbacks, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts
2 Responses to “More pieces being added to playoff committee puzzle”
  1. ajarkoski says: Oct 4, 2013 6:45 PM

    So, this is the last season with the BS BCS BS.
    Sounds like a good assortment of legitimate candidates who will do their due diligence to pick the 4 without any conflicts or questions. Yeah right. Should have been at least 8, but can’t wait.

  2. irishdodger says: Oct 4, 2013 8:11 PM

    Whew! As long as Frank Broyles isn’t on the committee, I’m good. I saw the Arkansas background and assumed the worst. I’m ok w/ Long.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!