Skip to content

Boyd, Murray, McCarron on updated Golden Arm Award watch list

Alabama v Texas A&M Getty Images

Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray, Alabama’s AJ McCarron and Clemson’s Tajh Boyd remain the most recognizable names on the watch list for the 2013 Golden Arm Award, presented to the top senior quarterback in college football by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm educational Foundation. In all, 15 players were announced as finalists for the quarterback award, trimming the initial watch list down from 30 players.

The SEC has four players still up for the award, with Murray and McCarron joined by Missouri’s James Franklin and South Carolina’s Connor Shaw. Franklin’s injury suffered in a win at Georgia this past weekend will likely keep him out of the running for the award moving forward.

The Pac 12 has with Arizona State’s Taylor Kelly, Oregon State’s Sean Mannion and Washington’s Keith Price still on the list. Mannion was this past weekend’s top Golden Arm Award performer among those on the original 30-player watch list. He currently leads the nation in passing yards and touchdown passes and is the only quarterback in the country averaging 400 yards per game.

The ACC has two quarterbacks on the updated list, with Boyd accompanied by Miami’s Stephen Morris. There are no quarterbacks from the Big 12 or Big Ten that made the cut.

Here is a look at the updated Golden Arm Award watch list.

  • Blake Bortles, UCF
  • Tajh Boyd, Clemson
  • Derek Carr, Fresno State
  • Cody Fajardo, Nevada
  • James Franklin, Missouri
  • Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
  • Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
  • Sean Mannion, Oregon State
  • AJ McCarron, Alabama
  • Stephen Morris, Miami
  • Aaron Murray, Georgia
  • Keith Price, Washington
  • Connor Shaw, South Carolina
  • Joe Southwick, Boise State
  • Keith Wenning, Ball State

Permalink 4 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, American Athletic Conference, Arizona State Sun Devils, Atlantic Coast Conference, Ball State Cardinals, Clemson Tigers, Fresno State Bulldogs, Georgia Bulldogs, Mid-American Conference, Missouri Tigers, Mountain West Conference, Nevada Wolf Pack, Northern Illinois Huskies, Oregon State Beavers, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, South Carolina Gamecocks, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts, Washington Huskies
4 Responses to “Boyd, Murray, McCarron on updated Golden Arm Award watch list”
  1. classyjacklambert says: Oct 16, 2013 9:19 PM

    No Jameis Winston? That’s odd.

  2. amosalanzostagg says: Oct 16, 2013 9:56 PM

    No Johnnie Manziel?

  3. longtallsam says: Oct 16, 2013 10:07 PM

    Some people just don’t read the article before commenting, do they?

    “….the 2013 Golden Arm Award, presented to the top SENIOR quarterback in college football by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm educational Foundation.”

  4. classyjacklambert says: Oct 16, 2013 10:14 PM

    Damn. Missed that one word so obviously I didn’t read the article. Also had no idea that Morris was a senior.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!