Skip to content

Aaron Murray, Derek Carr headline Academic Heisman finalists

Georgia Tech v Georgia Getty Images

Neither are on track to contend for the Heisman Trophy this year, but Georgia’s Aaron Murray and Fresno State’s Derek Carr are both up for the William V. Campbell Trophy — otherwise known as the Academic Heisman.

The two quarterbacks are among 18 finalists announced by the National Football Foundation on Thursday, joining six other FBS players: Michigan State LB Max Bullough, Oklahoma OL Gabe Ikard, Nebraska OL Spencer Long, Iowa LB James Morris, Duke OL Perry Simmons and Penn State OL John Urschel.

The other finalists: Northwest Missouri State QB Trevor Adams, Johns Hopkins (Md.) LB John Arena, Coastal Carolina WR Niccolo Mastromatteo, Cornell QB Jeff Mathews, Texas A&M-San Antonio QB Eric Soza, West Texas A&M QB Dustin Vaughn, Appalachian State WR Tony Washington and Augustana (Ill.) LB Erik Westerberg.

The Campbell Trophy/Academic Heisman will be awarded on Dec. 10 in New York.

Permalink 0 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Atlantic Coast Conference, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Duke Blue Devils, Fresno State Bulldogs, Georgia Bulldogs, Iowa Hawkeyes, Michigan State Spartans, Mountain West Conference, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Oklahoma Sooners, Penn State Nittany Lions, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts
Respond to “Aaron Murray, Derek Carr headline Academic Heisman finalists”
Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!