Taylor Kelly

Arizona State’s offense looking frightful


Arizona State (5-2, 3-1 Pac 12) put up 21 points in the first quarter. It was so much for the Sun Devils, they did it again in the second quarter. At halftime on the road, Arizona State leads Washington State (4-4, 2-3 Pac 12) 42-14 and is well on their way to another win to become bowl eligible.

Arizona State quarterback Taylor Kelly is off to a great start, having completed 14 of 18 pass attempts for 193 yards and four touchdowns. He has spread the football around well, completing passes to eight different receivers in the first half. Kelly has also added two rushing touchdowns and 71 rushing yards, while Marion Grice leads the Sun Devils with 83 rushing yards.

The offense for Arizona State has been locked in from t he start. At halftime, Arizona State has converted five out of six third-down conversions and they already have 20 first downs.

This game has quickly turned in to a mismatch, with Washington State having shown signs of improvement this season but clearly not ready to take things to the next level with the team Mike Leach has assembled right now. Arizona State has scored at least 50 points in each of their last two games, and that will likely extend to three games in the second half.

Barring a monumental upset in the second half, Arizona State is on pace to maintain the pole position in the Pac 12 South. Arizona State has Utah on the road next week. The Utes have already upset Stanford on their home field this season, so Arizona State certainly cannot take the game for granted, but the offense the Sun Devils are playing with right now is playing on a completely different level when you look around the Pac 12 South. UCLA may have the next best offense, but they have been weakened in recent weeks as well.

The margin of error for Arizona State is minimal, so picking up a win tonight is critical. They should feel pretty comfortable in the second half.

Starting Navy S Kwazel Bertrand undergoes surgery, likely out for season

Kwazel Bertrand, Jacobi Owens
Associated Press
Leave a comment

Navy has seen one of its most productive players on the defensive side of the ball play for perhaps the final time this season.

Kwazel Bertrand sustained a broken ankle in the win over Air Force last Saturday, head coach Ken Niumatalolo confirmed earlier this week. As a result, the defensive back will very likely miss the remainder of the 2015 season.

And, because he is a senior and has no other eligibility avenues to pursue, it would effectively end his collegiate career as well.

“I feel terrible for Kwazel. It’s really unfortunate any time a senior goes down with a season-ending injury,” Niumatalolo said. “Kwazel has been a really good player for us and we’re going to miss his presence out on the field.”

Bertrand started 27 games over the past three-plus seasons, including all four in 2015.

Unitas Award whittles watch list in half down to 15

FORT WORTH, TX - OCTOBER 03:  Trevone Boykin #2 of the TCU Horned Frogs looks for an open receiver against the Texas Longhorns in the second quarter at Amon G. Carter Stadium on October 3, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)
Getty Images
1 Comment

You know how I know we’re gradually creeping up on the end of another regular season?  Watch lists are being whittled.

The first major honor to do so is the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which is given out annually to the best quarterback who is a college senior or fourth-year junior.  The preseason watch list was 30 quarterbacks strong; the newest list has been cut in half to 15.

The most recent list includes one of the top Heisman contenders (TCU’s Trevone Boykin) and the top two nationally in passing yards (Bowling Green’s Matt Johnson, Western Kentucky’s Brandon Doughty), as well as a quarterback who’s closing in on the all-time FBS record for rushing touchdowns (Navy’s Keenan Reynolds).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with three watch listers, followed by two each from the AAC, ACC and Big Ten.  The SEC has as many players (one, Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott) as the FCS (North Dakota State’s Carson Wentz).

Last year’s winner was Marcus Mariota of Oregon.

Trevone Boykin, TCU
Jacoby Brissett, NC State
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, WKU
Everett Golson, Florida State
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Cody Kessler, USC
Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana
Carson Wentz, N. Dakota State
Marquise Williams, North Carolina
Travis Wilson, Utah