Skip to content

AJ McCarron, Tajh Boyd headline Unitas Award finalists

Tennessee v Alabama Getty Images

Handed out annually to the nation’s top SENIOR quarterback — notice that the word “senior” is in all-caps, bolded, italicized and underlined — the Johnny Unitas Golden Award is one of the most prestigious in the game.

Wednesday, the award announced the group of finalists eligible to win this year’s version of the honor.

A total of 10 finalists were named Wednesday afternoon, headlined by Alabama’s AJ McCarron and Clemson’s Tajh Boyd.  Oregon State’s Sean Mannion, who leads the nation in passing yards and touchdown passes, is on the list as well.

One of the more glaring exclusions?  LSU’s Zach Mettenberger, who’s in the midst of a breakout season that has him No. 6 in the country in passing efficiency.

Three of the quarterbacks come from each of the Pac-12 and SEC: Mannion, Arizona State’s Taylor Kelly (no relation) and Washington’s Keith Price from the former conference, McCarron, Georgia’s Aaron Murray and South Carolina’s Connor Shaw from the latter.  The MAC is the only other league with more than one player, while the AAC, Big Ten and Big 12 were shutout.

Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Derek Carr, Fresno State
Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Sean Mannion, Oregon State
AJ McCarron, Alabama
Aaron Murray, Georgia
Keith Price, Washington
Connor Shaw, South Carolina
Keith Winning, Ball State

Permalink 6 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, Arizona State Sun Devils, Atlantic Coast Conference, Ball State Cardinals, Clemson Tigers, Fresno State Bulldogs, Georgia Bulldogs, LSU Tigers, Mid-American Conference, Mountain West Conference, Northern Illinois Huskies, Oregon State Beavers, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, South Carolina Gamecocks, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts, Washington Huskies
6 Responses to “AJ McCarron, Tajh Boyd headline Unitas Award finalists”
  1. 8to80texansblog says: Nov 6, 2013 5:06 PM

    You obviously got lambasted for the SENIOR thing last year, huh JT?

    This one has to be McCarron.

  2. jimmy53 says: Nov 6, 2013 5:06 PM

    Good for them for sticking out all 4 years. However, senior or not, they should put Winston in this bunch since he played better than almost anyone in this group.

    For that matter you could add Manziel too…

  3. John Taylor says: Nov 6, 2013 5:24 PM

    When you’ve been doing posts on the award — preseason watch list, semifinalists, finalists and winners — for four years, you assume people are aware of the fact that it’s a senior-only award. Alas, that’s not the case, hence the stressing of it from here in out. :-)

  4. Flo Zielbauer says: Nov 6, 2013 5:31 PM

    Mannion is a Junior?

  5. jonkybon says: Nov 7, 2013 9:15 AM

    Love what Boyd has done for and at Clemson, but he shouldn’t be considered a serious contender. Awesome young man as anybody that has a chance to speak with him will tell you, but he handed FSU that game by himself and looked questionable in the first halves of the Maryland and BC games as well. A quality QB on a bad day misses his WR’s by feet, not 25+ yards. Sorry Tajh.

  6. greggatx says: Nov 9, 2013 3:12 PM

    We all know that is should be Bryce Petty at Baylor who should win the award. Thursday nights game was further proof. But with the long arms of the sec it will be a sec team.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!