Skip to content

Semifinalists announced for Doak Walker Award

Andre Williams AP

A total of 10 running backs were unveiled as semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award, the award’s board of directors announced Thursday.

Included in the group is Boston College’s Andre Williams, who currently leads the nation in rushing yards (1,471) and rushing yards per game (163.4).  Six of the current Top 10 in rushing are represented: Western Kentucky’s Antonio Andrews (No. 2), Washington’s Bishop Sankey (No. 3), Arizona’s Ka’Deem Carey (No. 6), Nebraska’s Ameer Abdullah (No. 7) and Wisconsin’s Melvin Gordon (No. 9).

The only ones from the Top 10 who are not a part of the 2013 Walker semifinalists Buffalo’s Branden Oliver (No. 5), Bowling Green Travis Greene (No. 8) and Colorado State’s Kapri Bibbs (No. 10), who has rushed for the most yards by a running back in a single game this season and leads the country with 19 rushing touchdowns.  The No. 4 rusher in the country, Northern Illinois’ Jordan Lynch, is a quarterback.

No semifinalists from a year ago were included in this year’s group as well.

Wisconsin’s Montee Ball was the 2012 Doak Walker Award winner.

Ameer Abdullah, Junior, Nebraska
Antonio Andrews, Senior, Western Kentucky
Ka’Deem Carey, Junior, Arizona
Mike Davis, Sophomore, South Carolina
Tyler Gaffney, Senior, Stanford
Melvin Gordon, Sophomore, Wisconsin
Tre Mason, Junior, Auburn
Bishop Sankey, Junior, Washington
Lache Seastrunk, Junior, Baylor
Andre Williams, Senior Boston College

Permalink 4 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Arizona Wildcats, Atlantic Coast Conference, Auburn Tigers, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Boston College Eagles, Bowling Green Falcons, Buffalo Bulls, Colorado State Rams, Mid-American Conference, Mountain West Conference, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, South Carolina Gamecocks, Southeastern Conference, Stanford Cardinal, Sun Belt Conference, Top Posts, Washington Huskies, Western Kentucky Hilltoppers, Wisconsin Badgers
4 Responses to “Semifinalists announced for Doak Walker Award”
  1. raiderufan says: Nov 15, 2013 10:06 AM

    A RB will have to run for 3,000 yards to ever be considered for the heisman again.

    The Heisman has become a joke.

  2. kfrazee says: Nov 15, 2013 1:35 PM

    Where’s Carlos Hyde? This list is a joke without him.

  3. dumbpollack says: Nov 15, 2013 2:35 PM

    Amen, frazee. He is a man amount boys.

  4. madtownthrowdown says: Nov 15, 2013 4:11 PM

    I’m sorry dumb pollack- Were you saying he’s a man amongst boys? Or a man who mounts boys?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!