Skip to content

Biletnikoff, Mackey Award semifinalists announced

Alabama v Texas A&M Getty Images

Texas A&M’s Mike Evans and Texas Tech’s Jace Amaro headline the semifinalists for the Biletnikoff and Mackey Awards, both of which were unveiled Monday.

Amaro, in fact, is a semifinalist for both awards — the Texas Tech tight end, who was injured Saturday against Baylor (and received a classy note from Bill Snyder), has 92 catches for 1,157 yards and six touchdowns this year.

The Biletnikoff semifinalists:

Davante Adams (Fresno State, SO): 91 REC, 967 YDS, 15 TD
Jace Amaro (Texas Tech, JR): 92 REC, 1,157 YDS, 6 TD
Odell Beckham Jr. (LSU, JR): 51 REC, 1,051 YDS, 8 TD
Brandin Cooks (Oregon State, JR): 100 REC, 1,443 YDS, 14 TD
Mike Evans (Texas A&M, SO): 57 REC, 1,263 YDS, 12 TD
Antwan Goodley (Baylor, JR): 48 REC, 1,075 YDS, 11 TD
Jordan Matthews (Vanderbilt, SR): 83 REC, 1,076 YDS, 5 TD
Allen Robinson (Penn State, JR): 81 REC, 1,204 YDS, 6 TD
Willie Snead (Ball State, JR): 86 REC, 1,296 YDS, 13 TD
Sammy Watkins (Clemson, JR): 71 REC, 1,086 YDS, 9 TD

It depends on which side you’re on in handicapping the award — Evans and Goodley are the most explosive of the bunch, each averaging about 22 yards per reception. Adams, Amaro and Cooks are the only players with over 90 receptions as of now. Guys like Matthews, Robinson and Amaro haven’t caught a ton of touchdowns like Adams, Cooks and Snead.

It’s worth noting, too, that preseason frontrunner Marqise Lee isn’t a semifinalist. The star USC receiver has been banged up and hasn’t been targeted as much as expected for an elite wideout this year, only amassing 44 catches for 604 yards and two touchdowns.

As for the Mackey Award semifinalists:

Jace Amaro  (Texas Tech, JR): 92 REC, 1,157 YDS, 6 TD
Ted Bolser (Indiana, SR): 30 REC, 296 YDS, 5 TD
Eric Ebron (North Carolina, JR): 49 REC, 763 YDS, 3 TD
Devin Funchess (Michigan, SO): 42 REC, 684 YDS, 5 TD
Gator Hoskins (Marshall, SR): 28 REC, 455 YDS, 9 TD
Troy Niklas (Notre Dame, JR): 25 REC, 390 YDS, 5 TD
Nick O’Leary (Florida State, JR): 26 REC, 444 YDS, 7 TD
Austin Seferian-Jenkins (Washington, JR): 27 REC, 328 YDS, 6 TD

Basically, it’d be stunning if Amaro didn’t win this. The award does take being a complete tight end into account — i.e. run/pass blocking — but Amaro’s numbers are so above and beyond those of the other semifinalists that he looks like the clear favorite.

Permalink 3 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Atlantic Coast Conference, Ball State Cardinals, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Clemson Tigers, Conference USA, Florida State Seminoles, Fresno State Bulldogs, Independents, Indiana Hoosiers, LSU Tigers, Marshall Thundering Herd, Michigan Wolverines, Mid-American Conference, Mountain West Conference, North Carolina Tar Heels, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, Oregon State Beavers, Pac-12 Conference, Penn State Nittany Lions, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Texas A&M Aggies, Texas Tech Red Raiders, Top Posts, USC Trojans, Vanderbilt Commodores, Washington Huskies
3 Responses to “Biletnikoff, Mackey Award semifinalists announced”
  1. longtallsam says: Nov 18, 2013 5:20 PM

    Watkins will probably be the first one drafted.

  2. ronm1963 says: Nov 18, 2013 6:05 PM

    @JJ Stankevitz — Basically, it’d be stunning if Amaro didn’t win this … Amaro’s numbers are so above and beyond … the other semifinalists …


    Could not agree more with your analysis … all of which means that the award will probably go to the underachieving Notre Dame

  3. 8to80texansblog says: Nov 20, 2013 10:33 AM

    The Bilitnekoff is either Evans or Cooks and to be honest, doesn’t it have to be Evans…. 279 yds against Bama… Evans has 2 of the top 3 performances by WR this year, both of those against top 10 teams.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!