Skip to content

Ed Orgeron named one of 16 Maxwell COTY semifinalists

Ed Orgeron Getty Images

And the drumbeat, right or wrong, for Ed Orgeron to have the interim tag stripped from his title continues.  Or, at the very least, the growing numbers banging the drums have received a bit more ammunition.

The Maxwell Football Club released its list of 16 semifinalists for its Coach of the Year award Wednesday and, of course, USC’s Orgeron is a part of that elite group.  Since taking over for the fired Lane Kiffin in late September, Orgeron has guided the Trojans to a 5-1 record, including a 5-0 mark in Pac-12 play.

USC’s lone loss with Orgeron as head coach was a four-point defeat against Notre Dame in South Bend.

While acknowledging that his search for a permanent replacement must expand beyond what’s happening in Los Angeles at the moment, athletic director Pat Haden also understands what Orgeron has accomplished during what’s essentially been an on-the-job interview.

“What Ed had done has been absolutely remarkable,” Haden said during a radio interview yesterday. “He is clearly in our eyesight. We understand. It’s not just the fans. We’re sophisticated enough and know enough about this to understand the attributes that he has and he’s a known quantity.”

Of the 16 semifinalists for this year’s award, 13 come from the so-called Big Five conferences.  The ones from outside that club are Northern Illinois’ Rod Carey, Fresno State’s Tim DeRuyter and UCF’s George O’Leary.

The only coach among this year’s semifinalists who have previously been named Camp’s Coach of the Year is Urban Meyer, who won the award in 2004 while at Utah.

This year’s finalists will be announced Dec. 3, with the winner being announced Dec. 17.  Last year’s winner was Penn State’s Bill O’Brien.

Below, in poll form, are the 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Club Coach of the Year. Vote for the coach you feel is most deserving, or click “Other” and whine bitch moan state your argument for another in the comments section below:


Permalink 10 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, American Athletic Conference, Atlantic Coast Conference, Auburn Tigers, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Boston College Eagles, Clemson Tigers, Duke Blue Devils, Florida State Seminoles, Fresno State Bulldogs, Michigan State Spartans, Mid-American Conference, Missouri Tigers, Mountain West Conference, Northern Illinois Huskies, Ohio State Buckeyes, Oklahoma State Cowboys, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, USC Trojans, Wisconsin Badgers
10 Responses to “Ed Orgeron named one of 16 Maxwell COTY semifinalists”
  1. thesmedman says: Nov 20, 2013 2:07 PM

    orgeron has not been HC the whole year. should not be eligible for this.

  2. halbert53 says: Nov 20, 2013 3:09 PM

    Orgeron has done well enough to deserve to be one of the 16 finalists. As to the actual winner, there are several others more deserving. In terms of doing more with less it is hard to argue against either Gus Malzahn of Auburn or David Cutcliffe of Duke. But there is also a case to be made for Briles at Baylor, Jimbo Fisher at FSU, the Missouri coach or Soban at Bama (barf). My choice would be Cutcliffe but Malzahn probably gets it for big turnaround at Auburn,

  3. Deb says: Nov 20, 2013 3:14 PM

    These kinds of polls don’t work. You ask me who I think is the coach of the year, and I’m going to say Malzahn, Pinkel, or Cutcliffe. You ask me to vote and I’m going to check the box next to my guy :)

  4. irishdodger says: Nov 20, 2013 3:19 PM

    Cutcliffe would get my vote…what compares to that? Malzahn has done a great job but it’s not like the cupboard was bare…hell he helped recruit most of those kids. But turning Duke into a ranked team that may play for the ACC Championship in addition to being bowl eligible two years in a row?!?!?! Even Spurrier couldn’t accomplish that.

  5. blacknole08 says: Nov 20, 2013 6:50 PM

    Cutcliffe probably will win this, but like Deb said I am gonna go with my guy, and thats Jimbo.

  6. jdillydawg says: Nov 20, 2013 7:04 PM


    Sure, Duke is a nice story, but until they make a run for the national championship after so many years of misery (just like Baylor), I gotta go with Briles.

    Congrats to Coach O for making the list. But I still think ya gotta coach the whole season.

  7. gbpackersfan12 says: Nov 20, 2013 8:15 PM

    From all WI fans….a special thank you to the University of Arkansas. Without your help we never would have landed Coach Andersen. We can’t thank you enough! What an amazing upgrade for our team.

    Go Bucky!

  8. craigmaitland says: Nov 20, 2013 8:51 PM

    Why wouldn’t undefeated Bama or FSU coaches not win it?

  9. artisan3m says: Nov 21, 2013 10:31 AM

    Gotta go with Art Briles ~ he has resurrected a program that has been essentially dead for the past two decades. Baylor at #3? Unbelievable. USC has always been a perennial powerhouse. Baylor has been its conference dormat and considered a veritable ‘open date’ by every team on its schedule. Briles has built something and this is payoff year for Baylor. Orgeron deserves the HC job at USC based on his performance but Coach of the Year goes to Briles. If Baylor beats Okla State, and they are favored to do so, then the award should be no remaining question.

  10. brianc6234 says: Nov 22, 2013 6:49 PM

    Only an idiot would say Orgeron shouldn’t be on this list because he hasn’t coached the whole season. Big deal. He’s coached most of it. He deserves to be Coach of the Year too. None of the other coaches are dealing with the garbage he’s having to deal with. They all have full rosters.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!