Skip to content

Unitas Golden Arm Award unveils 2013 finalists

AJ McCarron AP

An award that honors the top senior citizens at the quarterback position has released its finalists for the 2013 version of the award.

Headlining the very limited group of five players is Alabama’s AJ McCarron.  A semifinalist the past two seasons, McCarron can now say the same about being a finalist as he accomplished that feat in 2012 as well.

Joining McCarron as 2013 finalists is fellow SEC quarterback Aaron Murray of Georgia, along with Clemson’s Tajh Boyd, Fresno State’s Derek Carr and Northern Illinois’ Jordan Lynch.

That group quarterbacks three of the remaining six undefeated teams in the country and have a combined record of 44-5; Murray’s Bulldogs account for four of those losses.

The Unitas Award, named in honor of Hall of Famer Johnny Unitas and handed out to the top senior (academic or football eligibility) at the position, was won by Kansas State’s Collin Klein in 2012.

Here are the five finalists and a little statistical overview, courtesy of the folks with the Golden Arm:

–Tajh Boyd: Coming off a 55-31 win against Georgia Tech, Boyd has completed 212 of 318 passes for 2,960 yards (66.7% completion rate) and 32 touchdowns this season.
–Derek Carr: With two games remaining this season, Carr has thrown for 3,421 yards and 34 TDs, completing 69.5% of his passes for the 9-0 Bulldogs.
–Jordan Lynch: Lynch has led the Huskies to a 10-0 record this season, completing 65.5% of his passes while throwing for 35 TDs and 2,216 yards.
–AJ McCarron: After a 20-7 win over Mississippi State last week, McCarron has completed 177 of 261 passes for 2,228 yards (67.8%) and 21 TDs this season.
–Aaron Murray: While the Bulldogs are only 6-4 this season, Murray has thrown for 2,892 yards and 29 TDs, completing 207 of 324 pass attempts (63.9%).

Permalink 6 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, Atlantic Coast Conference, Clemson Tigers, Fresno State Bulldogs, Georgia Bulldogs, Mid-American Conference, Mountain West Conference, Northern Illinois Huskies, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts
6 Responses to “Unitas Golden Arm Award unveils 2013 finalists”
  1. woebegong says: Nov 20, 2013 8:40 AM

    Although A. Murray’s team has 4 loses, it should be noted that two of those loses were caused by special team errors, and two were caused by a young defense, still making some rookie mistakes like the one against Auburn last Saturday.
    This will be the 4th season where Murray has thrown for over 3000+ yards in a season. As a 5th year senior, he will graduate with a masters degree this year. He also holds just about every meaningful passing record in the SEC, right now. He has passed for a lot of yards this year with his 3 top receivers out due to injuries, as well as his two top RB’s out for significant parts of the season.
    The young man surely is deserving of the award, but most likely the 4 loses will doom him, although he did all he could with a limited support staff.

  2. thegamecocker says: Nov 20, 2013 8:50 AM

    Aaron Murray plays against the TOUGHEST competition in college. He has EARNED the respect of everyone he plays against. He is the epitome of what a student/athlete is all about and is certainly deserving of this award based on his performance. Well done Mr. Murray! The Gamecocker

  3. dhardy8207 says: Nov 20, 2013 9:15 AM

    Glad to see AJ’s name on the list…

  4. 8to80texansblog says: Nov 20, 2013 10:02 AM

    How is Johnny Football not on this list!!!!

    Just kidding JT…

  5. longtallsam says: Nov 20, 2013 10:51 AM

    If this award is for the top SENIOR, how could McCarron have been a semi-finalist the past two seasons? I could understand last year, since he is a fifth year senior, but the last two years? If he was academically a senior in his third year at Bama, while also playing football, congrats to him.

  6. 8to80texansblog says: Nov 20, 2013 3:03 PM


    I think when he says “the past 2 seasons” he means last year and this year.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!