Skip to content

Five finalists named for 2013 Nagurski Trophy

C.J. Mosley Getty Images

Given annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club to the nation’s best all-around defensive player, the Nagurski Trophy unveiled its group of five finalists Thursday morning for the 2013 version of the award.

The Final Five encompass two players each from the SEC and ACC along with one from the Big Ten.  Just one linebacker made the cut: Alabama’s C.J. Mosley.

The other four finalists are Michigan State cornerback Darqueze Dennard, Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald, Florida State cornerback Lamarcus Joyner and Missouri defensive end Michael Sam.

None of this year’s finalists were finalists for last year’s award, which was won by Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o.

Permalink 4 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, Atlantic Coast Conference, Big Ten Conference, Florida State Seminoles, Michigan State Spartans, Missouri Tigers, Pittsburgh Panthers, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts
4 Responses to “Five finalists named for 2013 Nagurski Trophy”
  1. irishdodger says: Nov 21, 2013 8:58 AM

    All five of those kids are elite defenders. If it goes to whoever is on the best team, it will come down to Mosley & Joyner. Then u have Dennard on arguably the toughest defense in the nation. Other than that, it’s a tough call.

  2. pushingiron says: Nov 21, 2013 9:22 AM

    If I had to make the call it would be Mosely. Every time I have watched him play he was the best defender on the field. You have to account for him on every play.

  3. cdboss says: Nov 21, 2013 12:10 PM

    Willie Sutton from Arizona State University. Better than all of the other young men. Too bad there is so much East coast bias.

  4. blastfurnaceknows says: Nov 21, 2013 4:54 PM

    Donald is the best D-lineman in the nation this year. A one-man wrecking crew. Toughest position, too, because he is double and triple teamed on every play and fights through it all. Humble kid too. Too bad that his team is so mediocre. He should win this award.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!