Skip to content

Mackey Award announces three finalists

North Carolina v Miami Getty Images

The John Mackey Award, given annually to the nation’s top tight end, announced its three finalists on Tuesday.

Juniors Eric Ebron of North Carolina, Nick O’Leary of Florida State and Austin Seferian-Jenkins of Washington were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection¬†Committee. The winner will be announced on Dec. 11 and presented with the trophy on Dec. 12.

Ebron leads North Carolina with 50 catches for 774 yards and three touchdowns this season. The athletic junior is considered a potential first round pick in the next NFL draft.

O’Leary has 27 catches for 457 yards and seven scores while averaging a healthy 16.9 yards per catch. He’s one of the main weapons in Florida State’s explosive offense that is high-rated in several categories.

Seferian-Jenkins has 31 catches for 361 yards and six scores. He was also a finalist for the award last season.

Permalink 3 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Atlantic Coast Conference, Florida State Seminoles, North Carolina Tar Heels, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Top Posts, Washington Huskies
3 Responses to “Mackey Award announces three finalists”
  1. mikefrommars says: Nov 25, 2013 8:23 PM

    Wow. Jace Amaro got the short end here. How is he not even top 3? He should be #1.

    92 catches for 1,157 yards and six touchdowns

  2. erockfox says: Nov 25, 2013 8:31 PM

    don’t forget to mention that O’Leary was hit by a car this off-season as well.

  3. Mr. Wright 212 says: Nov 25, 2013 10:41 PM

    let someone else have it, FSU has the best receiving corps in the nation. No one guy really stands out to get an award over guys who are primary/sole targets for their teams in many instances. That Ebron kid is ALL WORLD.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!