Skip to content

SEC title game coaches two of three Maxwell COTY finalists

David Cutcliffe Getty Images

Finalists for various awards continue to roll out with the 2013 regular season completed, with the Maxwell Football Club the latest to unveil its contender for a major non-playing honor.

Three finalists for the 2013 Maxwell Coach of the Year Award: Duke’s David Cutcliffe, Auburn’s Gus Malzahn and Missouri’s Gary Pinkel.  Malzahn and Pinkel, of course, will square off in the SEC championship game Saturday, while Cutcliffe and his Blue Devils will face top-ranked Florida State in the ACC title game the same day.

Malzahn is in his first year as the Tigers’ head coach and is largely responsible for one of the most stunning turnarounds in FBS history.  Last season, AU was 3-9 overall and winless in SEC play; in 2013, Malzahn has led the Tigers to a one-loss season that has them playing for a conference championship and a potential spot in the BCS title game.

Entering 2013, many observers viewed Pinkel as a coach on the hot seat coming off a five-win 2012 season that included a 2-6 record in the Tigers’ first year in the SEC.  Instead, Mizzou won its first outright division title since 2008 and could claim its first outright conference championship since 1960.

And then there’s Cutcliffe.  All the sixth-year coach did was set a school record for wins in a season with 10 and guide the Blue Devils to their first-ever Coastal division title.  Duke will play in a bowl game in back-to-back seasons for the first time in the program’s 92-year history.  In the six years with Cutcliffe on the sidelines, the Blue Devils have won 31 games; in the 15 seasons prior to Cutcliffe’s arrival and dating back to 1993, Duke won a combined 33 games.  Eight of those wins came in 1994.

Permalink 3 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Atlantic Coast Conference, Auburn Tigers, Duke Blue Devils, Missouri Tigers, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Top Posts
3 Responses to “SEC title game coaches two of three Maxwell COTY finalists”
  1. 8to80texansblog says: Dec 3, 2013 12:55 PM

    Winner will probably be Malzahn but I think it should be Cutcliffe. Auburn won a national title 3 yrs ago and had an undefeated season 8 years ago… they have a pretty decent tradition of winning there.

    Cutcliffe has changed the tradition at Duke and won their first division title….

    Imagine the BCS mayhem that would ensue should Duke actually beat FSU….

  2. bucrightoff says: Dec 3, 2013 1:38 PM

    Cutcliffe has to win. Right now Duke football has as many losses as Duke basketball. Undoubtable a very, very rare occurance. That alone has to win it for him.

  3. ashlynkat says: Dec 3, 2013 2:12 PM

    It has to be Pinkel. What he did in turning a bunch of 2 and 3 star recruits into a SEC contender in only Mizzou’s 2nd year is the most remarkable achievement. This after many years of only scant success in a weaker Big 12.

    Malzhan had a lot more talent work with and Auburn is only a few years removed from a National Championship and the recruiting bump that came with it. Yes, Auburn had a bad year last year but that was only a fluke and their success this year didn’t come out of nowhere like Mizzou’s.

    Cutliffe would be #2 with Duke’s turn around because, again, he has had far less talent to work with but ultimately falls behind Pinkel due to the much greater difficulty in winning in the SEC versus the ACC.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!