Skip to content

Jameis Winston headlines five Walter Camp Award finalists

Walter Camp Trophy

December has already been a banner month awards-wise for Jameis Winston.  At the rate he’s going, the Florida State could continue the hardware haul deep into the month as well.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation announced its five finalists for its prestigious Player of the Year award Wednesday, and, of course, the redshirt freshman Winston was one of the five.  Already the past couple of weeks, Winston has been named a finalist for the Maxwell, Davey O’ Brien and Manning awards.

This week, Winston has been named the ACC’s Overall, Offensive and Rookie of the Year.  He was also tabbed first-team all-conference.

Winston is joined by Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Boston College running back Andre Williams.

Manziel was a finalist for the 2012 award won by Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o.

Permalink 3 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, Atlantic Coast Conference, Boston College Eagles, Florida State Seminoles, Mid-American Conference, Northern Illinois Huskies, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Texas A&M Aggies, Top Posts
3 Responses to “Jameis Winston headlines five Walter Camp Award finalists”
  1. Mr. Wright 212 says: Dec 4, 2013 3:49 PM

    More yawn.

  2. stoicpaisano says: Dec 4, 2013 4:38 PM

    What is up with that trophy? Looks like one kid is going all Dontre Wilson on the first kid…no clue what’s going on in the back.

  3. gfj7000 says: Dec 4, 2013 6:09 PM

    What is Johnny ‘WHO’ still doing in there? He has been knocked out of every award circle due to his team’s lousy performance?

    Who is Andre Williams?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!