Skip to content

Alabama LB C.J. Mosley wins Butkus Award

Michigan v Alabama Getty Images

The first of the major college football awards was presented on Sunday night as Alabama’s C.J. Mosley was named the winner of the 2013 Butkus Award, which goes annually to the nation’s top linebacker.

Mosley is the third Crimson Tide player to win the Butkus, joining Derrick Thomas (1988) and Rolando McClain (2009).

The senior beat out fellow finalists Anthony Barr of UCLA, Khalil Mack of Buffalo, Ryan Shazier of Ohio State and Shayne Skov of Stanford.

“This year’s college linebacker class was among the best history. Mosley’s combination of instincts, range, playmaking ability, on-field leadership and work ethic distinguished his performance,” the 51-member Butkus Award committee announced in a statement. “His selfless contributions on special teams and in the community speak to his strength of character and support the Butkus Award mission.”

The great Dick Butkus himself gave the award to Mosley at the Alabama team banquet.

Mosley led the Tide with 102 tackles. He also added nine tackles for loss, five pass breakups and a forced fumble.



Permalink 9 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, Buffalo Bulls, Ohio State Buckeyes, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Stanford Cardinal, Top Posts, UCLA Bruins
9 Responses to “Alabama LB C.J. Mosley wins Butkus Award”
  1. Deb says: Dec 8, 2013 11:32 PM

    Congratulations, C.J.!!!!!!

    Roll Tide Roll!!!!!

  2. afrancis55 says: Dec 8, 2013 11:38 PM

    Barr should’ve won it after Auburn made that “vaunted” tide defense, including Mr. Mosley, look completely stupid out there.

  3. novoodoo4409 says: Dec 9, 2013 12:38 AM

    Wo, he wins that award and another BCS this year…oh wait…my’re on the Alabama team that lost…yeah, the fans that shoot each other and kill trees…Gumps, please stop your trailer park on trailer park crime…

  4. tidebarrister says: Dec 9, 2013 1:16 AM


    Your post is a constant reminder of the number of truly stupid people who post on this message board! You claim that because of one game, Mosley is somehow unworthy of the award. In case you didn’t know this, the award is based on the entire season. Otherwise you’d just give a new award after each week’s game. Right?

    At last count, Alabama has won 3 national championships in the past 4 years. Mosley was a big part of that success. What’s UCLA done? Hell, UCLA even sucks in the sport that they’re supposed to be good at — basketball!

    Alabama’s defense was far better than UCLA’s this season. Just check out the official NCAA Division I FBS Stats.

    Out of 123 teams in the FBS, Alabama’s defense ranked #5 nationally, giving up an average of 274.7 yards per game. Where did UCLA’s defense rank? #56, giving up an average of 392.8 yards per game, an average of 118.1 yards per game more than Alabama!

    Look at average points per game given up. Alabama’s defense gave up an average of 11 points a game, #2 nationally. UCLA’s defense gave up an average of 24 points per game. Not even a close comparison.

    Mosley was a big part of Alabama’s success this year and was very deserving of the award. Alabama lost 1 game this year to the #4 team and on the road. How many games did the “GREAT” UCLA lose? Uhh 3!

    Your opinion is one thing, but facts are another. The facts proved who should have won the award and the right person did!

    Roll Tide Roll!

    PS And Alabama’s offense was better than UCLA’s as well. Alabama had the #38 ranked offense and UCLA was #39.

  5. tidebarrister says: Dec 9, 2013 1:23 AM


    With all due respect to those who suffer from ADD, you must be one of them. The post was about whether Mosley should have won the Butkus Award, not about the conduct or behavior of fans.
    Your post is what is known as the classic “conversation hijacker.” Stick to the subject at hand or write your own damn post!

  6. dhardy8207 says: Dec 9, 2013 9:21 AM


    We’re very proud of all our players this season, but this young man has been an outstanding representative of our team on and off the field!. He will be missed next season but I wish him the best in a long and successful NFL career!!

    Roll Tide…..

  7. pushingiron says: Dec 9, 2013 9:33 AM

    Mosley was a solid choice, very good linebacker. Will be solid at the next level as well.

  8. Deb says: Dec 9, 2013 10:55 AM

    @tidebarrister …

    Thank you for taking out the trash today. I’ve never understood why people who clearly don’t know a first down from a corner blitz bother posting on football blogs … or why anyone would aspire to be a troll.

  9. jlfrag says: Dec 10, 2013 11:14 AM

    Buffalo Bulls Khalil Mack was by far the best choice and best LB in the country. He should have won this award. His numbers speak volume. His Tackles, sacks, TFL, and he even had 3 interceptions 2 for TD’s and 145 yards. He also broke Terrell Suggs NCAA record and tied another. People say well Buffalo doesn’t play the completion level well that is BS. He stuffed the Buckeyes and Braxton Miller and was the best player on the field. When they played Baylor they wouldn’t even run or pass his way. Yes CJ Mosley is very good but the only reason he won the Butkus award is because he plays for an SEC team that brings in the most money. It’s just not fair. The league just keeps on keeping all the other conferences down. Just like Jordon Lynch he will not win the Heisman because he also plays in (MAC) Mid American Conference with Buffalo. The league needs to start making some changes. Everyone sees what is going on and they keep on doing it.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!