Skip to content

Title game teams top Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year finalists

Jimbo Fisher AP

The head coaches for the two teams that will vie for the final BCS title trophy are up for one of the most highly-regarded coaching honors at the FBS level.

The Football Writers Association of America announced Wednesday the names of the eight finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award.  Included in that group are Florida State’s Jimbo Fisher and Auburn’s Gus Malzahn, the former who will be coaching the Seminoles in their first BCS title game since the 1999 season and the latter the Tigers’ first since the 2010 season.

Joining Fisher and Malzahn as finalists are Baylor’s Art Briles, Duke’s David Cutcliffe, Michigan State’s Mark Dantonio, UCF’s George O’Leary, Missouri’s Gary Pinkel and Stanford’s David Shaw.

This season, the eight finalists combined for 90-13 record, six division titles, six conference championships and six BCS bowl berths.

The award named in honor of the legendary Grambling State head coach has been handed out annually since 1957 and was won by Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly in 2012.

Permalink 11 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: American Athletic Conference, Atlantic Coast Conference, Auburn Tigers, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Duke Blue Devils, Florida State Seminoles, Michigan State Spartans, Missouri Tigers, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Stanford Cardinal, Top Posts, UCF Golden Knights
11 Responses to “Title game teams top Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year finalists”
  1. dietrich43 says: Dec 9, 2013 4:11 PM

    The Florida Attorney General should be on that list.

  2. fsu01 says: Dec 9, 2013 4:18 PM

    I do not have a vote but if I did I would say it comes down to Malzahn and Cutcliffe with the slight edge to Cutcliffe. Reason being is that Malzahn led a tremendous turnaround at Auburn and led them to the BCS title game. Auburn however was already a program so a turnaround from a team that was just there in ’11 is a bit easier than turning Duke into a 10 win team given where they were before Cutcliffe got there. Again close but slight edge to Cutcliffe.

  3. be4bama says: Dec 9, 2013 4:38 PM

    I vote Gus

  4. wvuandsteelers says: Dec 9, 2013 4:42 PM

    I pretty much agree with fsu01 except I would give the edge to Malzahn as the guy won the toughest conference in football and is playing for a National Championship.

  5. jdillydawg says: Dec 9, 2013 4:43 PM

    This is a tough call. Can’t they just cut the trophy up and give it to all of them?

    Assuming that’s not an option, I go with Briles. I’m biased, but he took a program that was almost without a conference 5 years ago and built it into a national contender. I think all of these coaches have done spectacularly well this year but I love how Briles has continued to build each year and make his program better.

    If we can’t give him Coach of the Year, maybe Coach of the Last Five Years? In which case, he’s suddenly in the same conversation as the Nick Saban’s of the world!

  6. fsu01 says: Dec 9, 2013 4:45 PM

    Bama impressed that you would say that about your rival. You would never hear a Gator say, “My vote is for Jimbo.” Nor would you hear a Seminole say, “Muschamp deserves it.” Well actually come to think about it you may hear a Seminole say that.

  7. fsu01 says: Dec 9, 2013 4:49 PM

    jdillydawg, agree with you on Briles for the same reason as Cutcliffe, but correct me if I am wrong but didn’t he win it already for turning Baylor into a contender? Again could be wrong about that.

  8. themagicfanguy says: Dec 9, 2013 4:49 PM

    I know he won’t win but I wish O’Leary could, he’s a deserving candidate that’s for sure.

  9. phillyphannnn83 says: Dec 10, 2013 12:17 AM

    IMHO, Coach of the Year should go to the guy who does the most with the least. That would have to be Duke coach David Cutcliffe, and I’m a UCF Alum.

  10. hittfamily says: Dec 10, 2013 6:37 AM

    FSU played VT in the title game in 1999. They played OU in the BCS tilte game in 2000. Do you guys not research these articles prior to writing them?

  11. klownboy says: Dec 10, 2013 9:19 AM

    I agree with phillyphannnn83, this should be David Cutcliffe’s award to lose.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!