Skip to content

UCLA LB Anthony Barr wins Lott Trophy

Cody Fajardo,  Anthony Barr AP

UCLA senior linebacker Anthony Barr was awarded the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Sunday evening at an awards banquet held at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif.

The Pacific Club will present a check in the amount of $25,000 to the general scholarship fund at UCLA in honor of Barr’s achievement.

The other finalists were Chris Borland of Wisconsin, Devon Kennard of USC and James Morris of Iowa. Each of their schools will receive a check in the amount of $5,000 for their general scholarship funds.

Barr is the first Bruin to win the award. He led UCLA with 20 tackles for loss, 10 sacks, five forced fumbles, four fumble recoveries and totaled 62 tackles. He’s projected by most analysts to be selected in the top 10 of next spring’s NFL draft.

He was also a finalist for the 2013 Butkus Award that was given to Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley on Sunday.

Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, DE, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, DB, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, DT, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA


Permalink 3 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Big Ten Conference, Iowa Hawkeyes, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Top Posts, UCLA Bruins, USC Trojans, Wisconsin Badgers
3 Responses to “UCLA LB Anthony Barr wins Lott Trophy”
  1. thekatman says: Dec 9, 2013 2:20 AM

    Also add at least 2 dangerous hirs on QBs that resulted in injuries to the QBs. Anthony “the hit man” Barr strikes again. Nothing to be proud of unless you’re on the New Orleans Saints squad.

  2. shadowcell says: Dec 9, 2013 1:07 PM

    I realize engaging you with things like facts is totally futile, but those were perfectly legal hits both times, katman, so quit your whining.

  3. wwttww says: Dec 10, 2013 2:42 AM

    Hope he’s a Falcon next year!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!