Skip to content

Davey O’Brien goes to Jameis Winston, good sign for Heisman

Jameis Winston vs Florida AP

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was the most consistently productive quarterback this season. On Thursday night Winston was named the 2013 Davey O’Brien Award winner by the Davey O’Brien Foundation. The award is presented to the top quarterback in college football.

Winston beat out Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and 2012 Davey O’Brien Award winner Johnny Manziel for this year’s award.

Winston joins former Florida State quarterbacks Chris Weinke (2000) and Charlie Ward (1993) as the three Seminoles to win the award. Weinke and Ward also went on to win the Heisman Trophy those years, and Winston appears to be the easy pick for this year’s Heisman Trophy as well. Florida State’s three Davey O’Brien Award winners represent three of the four ACC quarterbacks to win the award as well. Georgia Tech’s Joe Hamilton won the award in 1999.

Each of the last three Davey O’Brien Award winners —  Manziel (2012), Robert Griffin III (2011) and Cam Newton (2010) — went on to win the Heisman Trophy as well. It would seem history is on Winston’s side as far as the Heisman is concerned.

Manziel was the Davey O’Brien Award winner in 2012, his Heisman Trophy season.

Winston also won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Permalink 1 Comment Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, Atlantic Coast Conference, Florida State Seminoles, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Texas A&M Aggies, Top Posts
1 Response to “Davey O’Brien goes to Jameis Winston, good sign for Heisman”
  1. jpaq68 says: Dec 13, 2013 11:29 AM

    Next up – the 2013 Ben Roethlisberder Award

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!