Skip to content

Pittsburgh’s Aaron Donald wins Outland Trophy

Pittsbrugh v Syracuse AP

Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald is racking up some hardware this week. The ACC’s top defensive lineman was named this season’s Outland Trophy winner by the Football Writers Association of America, which goes to the nation’s top interior lineman, on offense or defense.

Donald had some tough competition for the award. the Pitt Panthers edged out Texas A&M’s Jake Matthews and Baylor’s Cyril Richardson. Donald is the first player from Pittsburgh to win the Outland Trophy, which has been awarded every year since 1946.

Donald is the first ACC player to win the award since North Carolina State’s Jim Ritcher in 1979.

Earlier this week Donald won the Lombardi Award and the Nagurski Award. There could be more on the way. Donald is a finalist for the Bednarik Award, which will be awarded Thursday night.

Permalink 1 Comment Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Atlantic Coast Conference, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Pittsburgh Panthers, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Texas A&M Aggies, Top Posts
1 Response to “Pittsburgh’s Aaron Donald wins Outland Trophy”
  1. chriscoz21 says: Dec 14, 2013 7:31 PM

    Didn’t Mark May win the Outland?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!