Skip to content

Baylor QB Bryce Petty beats out Johnny Manziel for first Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

Bryce Petty AP

Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty became the first winner of the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award on Friday night. The award, presented by the Tyler Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler, is given to the top offensive player in Division 1 football born in Texas or graduated from a Texas-based college. The award was announced

Petty was a large factor in Baylor’s success in the 2013 season, guiding the high-scoring offense to the first Big 12 championship in program history with a regular season finale victory over Texas to earn a spot in the Fiesta Bowl. Petty had been in the running for a Heisman Trophy finalist invite, but a late loss to Oklahoma State derailed that hope. Still, Petty completed the season with 323.1 passing yards per game and 32 touchdowns after completing 62.0 percent of his pass attempts. He was intercepted just three times in the season, and he led the nation with 16.8 yards per completion.

Petty also took home Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year honors from a number of outlets and was a unanimous selection for First Team All Big 12.

Petty beat out a number of worthy candidates for the award, including Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and wide receiver Mike Evans. Missouri quarterback James Franklin  and Texas Tech tight end Jace Amaro were also finalists for the inaugural award.

Permalink 8 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Missouri Tigers, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Texas A&M Aggies, Texas Tech Red Raiders, Top Posts
8 Responses to “Baylor QB Bryce Petty beats out Johnny Manziel for first Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award”
  1. goodfieldnohit says: Jan 17, 2014 10:33 PM


  2. sfm073 says: Jan 17, 2014 10:44 PM

    Can Texas just become it’s own country already. You guys are so full of yourselves.

  3. peddealer says: Jan 18, 2014 2:24 AM

    Sfm, we ALREADY have been a country, try dusting off your elementary history books my good lad!

  4. pyleketerson says: Jan 18, 2014 2:45 AM

    This is not news or even worthy of a blog post.

  5. johnson1615 says: Jan 18, 2014 8:52 AM

    This is just stupid. While Petty is a good player, how can they justify choosing him over Johnny Football??? Seriously? This “inaugural” award may just as well be the last Earl award. Definitely not a serious award.

  6. goodfieldnohit says: Jan 18, 2014 9:04 AM

    They should rename the award to accurately reflect what it is, the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Best Player From Texas As Long As It’s Not Anyone From Texas A&M Award.

  7. elwaysagenius says: Jan 18, 2014 10:13 AM

    Why James Franklin? He was the 2nd best QB on his team this year

  8. lindsaybrookehanks says: Jan 19, 2014 4:16 PM

    This is an award for Texas player who is a leader in academics and on and off the field. Bryce Petty is more of a leader than Manziel will ever be. Act like a punk, don’t expect to win any leadership awards. I think the right person won.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!