Skip to content

Texas Tech denies QB’s transfer request to Texas or TCU

Texas Tech Quarterback Quandry Football AP

Texas Tech did it again. The Red Raiders denied another transfer request for a quarterback to another Big 12 school.

Michael Brewer, scheduled to graduate this spring, had plans to transfer to Texas or TCU according to The Dallas Morning News, but Texas Tech stood firm on their stance against allowing players to transfer to other Big 12 schools. This is the same stance the school took with quarterback Baker Mayfield, who attempted to battle the decision through an appeal. Mayfield had been reported to want to walk on at Oklahoma, but that appeal was rejected by the university.

“The five-member panel upheld the head coach’s decision and denied Michael’s appeal,” a statement from the university obtained by said. “The decision was consistent with Texas Tech and Big 12 Conference policy and practice regarding intra-conference transfers and is consistent with NCAA rules.”

Allowing schools to have the power to determine where a college football player can or cannot play once they make the decision to transfer remains a silly rule that really should be addressed at some point.

Brewer made the decision to transfer from Texas Tech in mid-January, but he appears to be leaving the program on good terms. Brewer released a statement through the university when the decision was made. Brewer was third on the team in passing last season and is looking for a chance to compete for more playing time in his final year of eligibility. Because he is scheduled to graduate this spring, he will be eligible to play in the fall at another FBS program. Of course, Texas Tech is prohibiting a transfer to any other Big 12 school.

Permalink 12 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Big 12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Texas Tech Red Raiders, Top Posts
12 Responses to “Texas Tech denies QB’s transfer request to Texas or TCU”
  1. thefiesty1 says: Feb 13, 2014 10:39 PM

    Same thing I said about Baker Mayfield. He’s not on scholarship at TT and can go wherever he wants. Now Brewer is scheduled to graduate and can go wherever he wants.
    Sour grapes on TT’s part. They are not indentured slaves for life.

  2. Gordon says: Feb 13, 2014 10:55 PM

    Funny that the NCAA wonders why these guys want to unionize. They can’t get paid, and they can’t change their mind on their original school of choice once they have played/enrolled (whatever the school decides).

    Yet a coach can bail on a school mere weeks after signing an extension. I really hope those Northwestern kids win their case. This is nucking futs.

  3. bigace73 says: Feb 13, 2014 11:05 PM

    so they should transfer to a non big 12 school, then suddenly decide it was a mistake & on to the Big 12…

  4. wustlumdnj says: Feb 14, 2014 3:52 AM

    I can see both sides of this. On the one hand, there are many ways in which students are getting the short end of the stick in terms of ability to transfer, cost of living, etc.

    On the other hand, Texas Tech isn’t attempting to do anything that isn’t explicitly stated in its scholarship contract. A QB that’s been inside the TTU system for 4 years switching to an in-conference school is like a major employee of a company switching over to a rival company. There are often non compete clauses in those employee contracts, and this is pretty much analogous. Think of all the signs, plays, etc. that would immediately be leaked throughout the conference.

    I believe students should be able to receive money appropriate for their cost of living, first and foremost. I believe schools should not be able to veto a player from going to *any* school for any made up reason. But in this case, the player has known for four years that TTU and the Big 12 do not allow intra-conference transfers. He should not be surprised his transfer request is being denied – it’s in his contract.

  5. gorilladunk says: Feb 14, 2014 7:44 AM

    @wustlum…the only flaw in your argument is that (in Mayfield’s case) there was NO scholarship in play. In Brewer’s case, he’s going to graduate. Tech, and “Coach Hottie” are showing themselves to be total turds. This pettiness can’t possibly help in recruiting over the long haul. Tech reminds me of the guy who has no use for his old girlfriend, but doesn’t want her to date anyone else.

  6. the12havedogs2 says: Feb 14, 2014 9:25 AM

    The rule is sensible for the university, they have invested time and money into this player. However, players aren’t paid or under contract. They should have the right with a legitimate case to switch to any university they choose. What if they could obtain a starting position? If the current university could off err that then that should be a legitimate reason. Or, what if the player switched majors and the same classes aren’t offered at the current university? That would be legitimate as well, one would think.

  7. matchtuff says: Feb 14, 2014 9:29 AM

    The rule needs to be challenged in court and overturned. Yes high level executives have non compete clauses but are also highly compensated. I hope the kids form a union, sue and get a piece of the pie since these schools make all kinds of money and the kids get a scholarship well if it isn’t pulled due to injury or whatever. The kids also get their likenesses on sports items or games that are sold and get none of that money also. The may need to deposit money into general fund for all sports that is shared with all school sports but should be weighted so that the money making sports athletes get more of the money.

  8. tortillared says: Feb 14, 2014 11:02 AM

    You Tech haters crack me up.

    Has anyone even addressed the question of Charlie Strong or Gary Patterson even wanting Michael Brewer? Have any of you guys even seen Brewer play in college?

    The rule is being held up for the principal of the issue, not because Brewer is going to do any damage against Tech if he transfers to UT or TCU because he probably isn’t going to win any QB battle at those schools either. Brewer is 5’11 and his passes of 15+ yards look like punts because he doesn’t have the arm strength.

    This is just an opportunity to hate on the West TX school. This will be a dead issue once Sept rolls around.

  9. onbucky96 says: Feb 14, 2014 11:06 AM

    Its been a great week fot Texas Tech. What a s***hole, whether its the fans or the school.

  10. mogogo1 says: Feb 14, 2014 11:57 AM

    Strange all around. Tech should probably just let them go, but who applies for a transfer without having a single school in mind? And Mayfield wanted to go from being Tech’s backup to probably third string or worse at OU. (Because he was turned down long before it was announced Bell would be moving to tight end.)

  11. goodfieldnohit says: Feb 14, 2014 12:36 PM

    And yet coaches can go anywhere they damn well please, leaving their recruits at the mercy of the next ne’er do well coach to come along.

  12. goodfieldnohit says: Feb 14, 2014 12:42 PM

    As far as hating on Texas Tech, it’s easy to do.

    Opposing basketball teams have had to fight their way out of their arena.

    Their fans have shoved goal posts into the visiting fan section.

    Their fans have thrown batteries at opposing players.

    Their superfan (Orr) recently is in the news for inciting an opposing basketball player.

    I will agree with you, it’s quite easy to hate on that pile of crap school.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!