Skip to content

Is this the year for Derrick Thomas? College Football Hall of Fame ballot released

Warren Sapp

The ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014 has been revealed by the National Football Foundation. In all, there are 75 names from the world of the FBS, including Oklahoma’s Brian Bosworth, Miami’s Warren Sapp (pictured), Ray Lewis and Jerome Brown, Penn State’s Shane Conlan, SMU’s Eric Dickerson, TCU’s LaDainian Tomlinson, Texas’s Ricky Williams and Colorado’s Rashaan Salaam. One other name on the ballot is Alabama’s Derrick Thomas, who appears to be this year’s successor to Nebraska’s Tommie Frazier after long being overlooked on the ballot.

The official class will be announced in May, honored in December and formally inducted at a time to be determined in 2015. Votes will be submitted by members of the National Football Foundation and hall of fame members.


Trev Alberts, LB, Nebraska

Eric Bieniemy, RB, Colorado

Dre Bly, DB, North Carolina

Tony Boselli, OT, USC

Brian Bosworth, LB, Oklahoma

Bob Breunig, LB, Arizona State

Jerome Brown, DT, Miami

Ruben Brown, OT, Pitt

Larry Burton, WR, Purdue

Dave Butz, DT, Purdue

Freddie Carr, LB, UTEP

Mark Carrier, S, USC

Wes Chandler, WR, Florida

Shane Conlan, LB, Penn State

Tim Couch, QB, Kentucky

Tom Cousineau, LB, Ohio State

Bob Crable, LB, Notre Dame

Paul Crane, C/LB, Alabama

Eric Crouch, QB, Nebraska

Randall Cunningham, QB/P, UNLV

Troy Davis, RB, Iowa State

Eric Dickerson, RB, SMU

Mike Dirks, DT, Wyoming

D.J. Dozier, RB, Penn State

Tim Dwight, WR/Returner, Iowa

Jumbo Elliott, OT, Michigan

William Fuller, DT, North Carolina

Thom Gatewood, WR, Notre Dame

Willie Gault, WR, Tennessee

Kirk Gibson, WR, Michigan State

Charlie Gogolak, K, Princeton

Joe Hamilton, QB, Georgia Tech

Al Harris, DE, Arizona State

Dana Howard, LB, Illinois

Randy Hughes, DB, Oklahoma

Bobby Humphrey, RB, Alabama

Raghib Ismail, WR, Notre Dame

Roy Jefferson, WR, Utah

Ernie Jennings, WR, Air Force

Keyshawn Johnson, WR, USC

Clinton Jones, RB, Michigan State

Lincoln Kennedy, OT, Washington

Tim Krumrie, DT, Wisconsin

Greg Lewis, RB, Washington

Jesse Lewis, DT, Oregon State

Ray Lewis, LB, Miami

Robert Lytle, RB, Michigan

Bob McKay, OT, Texas

Cade McNown, QB, UCLA

Mark Messner, DL, Michigan

Darrin Nelson, RB, Stanford

Ken Norton Jr, LB, UCLA

Tom Nowatzke, FB, Indiana

Jim Otis, FB, Ohio State

Paul Palmer, RB, Temple

Antwaan Randle El, QB, Indiana

Simeon Rice, LB, Illinois

Ron Rivera, LB, Cal

Willie Roaf, OL, Louisiana Tech

Mike Ruth, NG, Boston College

Rashaan Salaam, RB, Colorado

Warren Sapp, DT, Miami

John Sciarra, QB, UCLA

Larry Seivers, WR, Tennessee

Sterling Sharpe, WR, South Carolina

Art Still, DE, Kentucky

Derrick Thomas, LB, Alabama

Zach Thomas, LB, Texas Tech

LaDainian Tomlinson, RB, TCU

Jackie Walker, LB, Tennessee

Wesley Walls, TE, Mississippi

Lorenzo White, RB, Michigan State

Clarence Williams, RB, Washington State

Ricky Williams, RB, Texas

Steve Wisniewski, OG, Penn State


Mike Belotti – Chico State, Oregon

Jim Carlen – West Virginia, Texas Tech, South Carolina

Pete Cawthon – Texas Tech

Danny Ford – Clemson, Arkansas

Billy Jack Murphy – Memphis

Darryl Rogers – Call State-Hayward, Fresno State, San Jose State, Michigan State, Arizona State

You can see the full ballot, which includes brief biographies and the list of FCS, Division 2, Division 3 and NAIA candidates as well via the National Football Foundation.

Permalink 8 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Rumor Mill, Top Posts
8 Responses to “Is this the year for Derrick Thomas? College Football Hall of Fame ballot released”
  1. bigdinla says: Mar 6, 2014 1:15 PM

    No one on that list is more deserving than DT!

  2. thefiesty1 says: Mar 6, 2014 1:31 PM

    When was Jim Carlen at Texas Tech? What was his W-L record there? I may be losing it but I don’t recall him being there.

  3. amosalanzostagg says: Mar 6, 2014 7:19 PM


    You’re losing it….jk.

    Carlen was at Tech in the early 70’s.Good Coach. Bobby Bowden is part of his coaching tree. Think his best year Tech was 11-1, Texas beat them. Don’t get me on the year, 72 or 73. Left Tech for South Carolina.


  4. 11thstreetmafia says: Mar 6, 2014 10:13 PM

    Rocket Ismail!!!!!!

  5. youcantmakemepickausername says: Mar 7, 2014 12:00 AM

    Not sure what the criteria is for getting in, but I looked at probably 80% of the names on that list and said “you mean they’re not in already????”.

  6. Admin says: Mar 7, 2014 8:58 AM

    Derrick Thomas absolutely should be in the CFHF as should the 3 from UM (Sapp, Brown, Lewis). The fact that known of them are is quite a travesty!

  7. mogogo1 says: Mar 7, 2014 11:36 AM

    This college football hall is so incredibly behind in their selections and I frequently can’t understand how exactly their process works. Case in point: Of 6 coaches listed here, 2 are up for consideration based on their time at Texas Tech. Odd timing and probably basically assures both won’t make it this year.

    Cauthon had a long career there and they were the highest scoring team in the nation at that time, so he and his 76-32 record look pretty good. But Carlen’s resume is awfully thin beyond the single 11-1 year. His overall record as a coach was 107-69. He was only 37-20 at TT which was by far his best stop. He was 2-5-1 in bowl games. Good career, but does that sound like “Hall of Fame” to anybody?

  8. chrisanderson2013 says: Mar 7, 2014 2:26 PM

    I guess I’m the only one wondering how many of the 75 can be voted into the College Football Hall of Fame??? 5 or 10 out of the 75 or………?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!