Skip to content

39 DBs make up Thorpe Award watch list

Florida v Miami Getty Images

The interminable Watch List Week (Part I) continues unabated Friday morning, with the Jim Thorpe Award the latest to release its group.

Given annually to the nation’s top defensive back, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame announced earlier today a watch list consisting of 39 players. Four semifinalists for last year’s award — Alabama’s Landon Collins, Oregon’s Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Florida’s Vernon Hargreaves (pictured) and Ole Miss’ Cody Prewitt — are a part of this initial list.

The three finalists for last year’s trophy — winner Darqueze Dennard of Michigan State, Justin Gilbert of Oklahoma State and Lamarcus Joyner of Florida State — were all selected in the May NFL draft.

All 10 FBS conferences were represented, led by five apiece from the ACC, Big Ten, Conference USA and Mountain West. The AAC, Pac-12 and SEC had four each.

A total of five schools placed two players apiece on the watch list: Arkansas State, Boise State, Florida State, Michigan State and UCF.  Of the 39 players, 19 are seniors, 13 are juniors and just seven are sophomores.

Below is the complete 2014 Thorpe Award watch list:

Kevin Byard, Middle Tenn, Jr.
Bryce Callahan, Rice, Sr.
Ibraheim Campbell, Northwestern, Sr.
Sam Carter, TCU, Sr.
Jeremy Cash, Duke, Jr.
Donald Celiscar, Western Michigan, Sr.
Landon Collins, Alabama, Jr.
Blake Countess, Michigan, Jr.
Su’a Cravens, USC, So.
Donte Deayon, Boise State, Jr.
Quandre Diggs, Texas, Sr.
Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, Jr.
Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State, Sr.
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, Sr.
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, So.
Clayton Geathers, UCF, Sr.
Jacoby Glenn, UCF, So.
Vernon Hargreaves, Florida, So.
Anthony Harris, Virginia, Sr.
Rocky Hayes, Arkansas State, Jr
Jeremy Ioane, Boise State, Sr.
Jordan Lucas, Penn State, Jr.
Marcus Peters, Washington, Jr.
Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, Sr.
Jalen Ramsey, Florida State, So.
Jordan Richards, Stanford, Sr.
Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, So.
Derron Smith, Fresno State, Sr.
D’Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
Trevon Stewart, Houston, Jr.
Brian Suite, Utah State, Sr.
Cam Thomas, WKU, Sr.
Triston Wade, UTSA, Sr.
Ryland Ward, Bowling Green, Jr.
Trae Waynes, Michigan State, Jr.
Tre’Davious White, LSU, So.
J.J. Whittaker, San Diego State, Sr.
PJ Williams, Florida State, Jr.
Sterling Young, Arkansas State, Sr.

Permalink 3 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, American Athletic Conference, Arkansas State Red Wolves, Articles, Atlantic Coast Conference, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Boise State Broncos, Bowling Green Falcons, Conference USA, Duke Blue Devils, FAU Owls, Florida Gators, Florida State Seminoles, Fresno State Bulldogs, Houston Cougars, LSU Tigers, Michigan State Spartans, Michigan Wolverines, Mid-American Conference, Middle Tennessee State Blue Raiders, Mountain West Conference, Northwestern Wildcats, Oklahoma Sooners, Ole Miss Rebels, Oregon Ducks, Pac-12 Conference, Penn State Nittany Lions, Rice Owls, Rumor Mill, San Diego State Aztecs, Southeastern Conference, Stanford Cardinal, Sun Belt Conference, TCU Horned Frogs, Texas Longhorns, Top Posts, Tulane Green Wave, USC Trojans, UT-San Antonio Roadrunners, Utah State Aggies, Virginia Cavaliers, Virginia Tech Hokies, Washington Huskies, Western Kentucky Hilltoppers, Western Michigan Broncos
3 Responses to “39 DBs make up Thorpe Award watch list”
  1. billybobyall says: Jul 11, 2014 11:56 AM

    It’s missing Avery Sebastian from Cal.

  2. florida727 says: Jul 11, 2014 3:45 PM

    This is going to be a bad year for Gator football I’m afraid, but Hargreaves is one player I’ll still enjoy watching. This kid is flat-out gifted. Whenever he decides to play for pay, he’ll be a high draft pick.

  3. deeroi says: Jul 11, 2014 5:56 PM


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!