Skip to content

Jameis Winston, Pac-12 QBs headline O’Brien Award watch list

Jameis Winston AP

Don’t worry.  We’re just a couple of days away from the end of the dreaded “Watch List Season.”

The latest to release its watch list are the fine folks at the Davey O’Brien Award, which announced a 39-strong group of quarterbacks to watch in 2014.  Not so surprisingly, last year’s winner headlines the individual names on the list.

Florida State’s Jameis Winston, the 2013 trophy winner, is looking to become the fourth quarterback to ever claim two O’Briens.  If a repeat is in order, Winston would join BYU’s Ty Detmer (1990-91), Florida’s Danny Wuerffel (1995-96) and Oklahoma’s Jason White (2003-04) as the award’s only two-time winners.

Winston, though, will face some stiff competition. There are five semifinalists for last year’s award on this year’s watch list: UCLA’s Brett Hundley, Oregon State’s Sean Mannion, Oregon’s Marcus Mariota, Ohio State’s Braxton Miller and Baylor’s Bryce Petty.

The Pac-12 easily paced all conferences with eight players on the watch list, followed by the Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC with five apiece. Of the 39 players selected, just 13 came from non-Power Five conferences.

Class-wise, there were 19 seniors, 13 juniors and seven sophomores on the list.

Below is the complete 2014 Davey O’Brien Award preseason watch list:

Anthony Boone (Duke, Senior)
Terrance Broadway (Louisiana-Lafayette, Senior)
Shane Carden (East Carolina, Senior)
Rakeem Cato (Marshall, Senior)
Connor Cook (Michigan State, Junior)
Jeff Driskel (Florida, Junior)
Cody Fajardo (Nevada, Senior)
Devin Gardner (Michigan, Senior)
Jared Goff (California, Sophomore)
Everett Golson (Notre Dame, Junior)
Garrett Grayson (Colorado State, Senior)
Christian Hackenberg (Penn State, Sophomore)
Connor Halliday (Washington State, Senior)
Grant Hedrick (Boise State, Senior)
Taylor Heinicke (Old Dominion, Senior)
Taysom Hill (BYU, Junior)
Kevin Hogan (Stanford, Junior)
Brett Hundley (UCLA, Junior)
Matt Johnson (Bowling Green, Junior)
Chuckie Keeton (Utah State, Senior)
Taylor Kelly (Arizona State, Senior)
Cody Kessler (USC, Junior)
Trevor Knight (Oklahoma, Sophomore)
Sean Mannion (Oregon State, Senior)
Marcus Mariota (Oregon, Junior)
Nick Marshall (Auburn, Senior)
Hutson Mason (Georgia, Senior)
Braxton Miller (Ohio State, Senior)
John O’Korn (Houston, Sophomore)
Bryce Petty (Baylor, Senior)
Dak Prescott (Mississippi State, Junior)
Keenan Reynolds (Navy, Junior)
Joel Stave (Wisconsin, Junior)
P.J. Walker (Temple, Sophomore)
Bo Wallace (Ole Miss, Senior)
J.W. Walsh (Oklahoma State, Junior)
Jake Waters (Kansas State, Senior)
Davis Webb (Texas Tech, Sophomore)
Jameis Winston (Florida State, Sophomore)

Permalink 5 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: American Athletic Conference, Arizona State Sun Devils, Articles, Atlantic Coast Conference, Auburn Tigers, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Boise State Broncos, Bowling Green Falcons, BYU Cougars, Cal Golden Bears, Colorado State Rams, Conference USA, Duke Blue Devils, East Carolina Pirates, Florida Gators, Florida State Seminoles, Georgia Bulldogs, Houston Cougars, Independents, Kansas State Wildcats, Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns, Marshall Thundering Herd, Michigan State Spartans, Michigan Wolverines, Mid-American Conference, Mississippi State Bulldogs, Mountain West Conference, Navy Midshipmen, Nevada Wolf Pack, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, Ohio State Buckeyes, Oklahoma Sooners, Oklahoma State Cowboys, Old Dominion Monarchs, Ole Miss Rebels, Oregon Ducks, Oregon State Beavers, Pac-12 Conference, Penn State Nittany Lions, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Stanford Cardinal, Sun Belt Conference, Temple Owls, Texas Tech Red Raiders, Top Posts, UCLA Bruins, USC Trojans, Utah State Aggies, Washington State Cougars, Wisconsin Badgers
5 Responses to “Jameis Winston, Pac-12 QBs headline O’Brien Award watch list”
  1. ancientcougar says: Jul 16, 2014 11:05 AM

    What is the deal with Bold Print Guys and the Not so Bold Print Guys?

  2. danoregon says: Jul 16, 2014 11:23 AM

    I’ve always wondered about these watch lists. Does this mean that someone not on the list is not eligible?
    Cam Newton wasn’t named the starter until after most watch-lists came out and he went on to win the Heisman. But the Heisman doesn’t have a watch-list.

  3. jpiro says: Jul 16, 2014 2:38 PM

    Jeff Driskel? Bahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…

  4. onbucky96 says: Jul 16, 2014 4:25 PM

    Mmm…crab legs….

  5. grilldoggy says: Jul 16, 2014 7:09 PM

    I’ve never seen a worse face on the cover of college football than Jameis Winston. Won’t be sorry to see him go, any way possible.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!