Skip to content

Voters for new college football poll announced by FWAA and NFF

Portrait of poet, journalist, and sportswriter Grantland Rice, 1940s. Getty Images

This upcoming college football season will see two brand new polls introduced to go alongside the traditional polls used by the Associated Press and the coaches. The only one that will truly matter will be the weekly poll released by the College Football Playoff selection committee later in the season, because that will likely give fans an idea of whre things are heading for the playoff. This offseason also saw a new poll announced by the National Football Foundation and the Football Writers Association of America, the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll. Now we know who will be casting votes for this brand new power poll.

Today the FWAA and NFF released a list of the voters, ranging from various local and national media outlets, board members and the College Football Hall of Fame.

“We have assembled a group of highly knowledgeable voters who will collectively provide an objective and credible view of the top college football teams each week,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell in a released statement. “We are extremely pleased to partner with the FWAA on the launch of the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, which will provide a compelling reference point for fans to follow during the college football season.”

If you are wondering just who will be voting, wait no more. Here is the list of voters, as provided by the NFF and FWAA;

  • Mark Anderson*, Las Vegas Review-Journal
  • Chris Ault, College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2002
  • Lee Barfknecht*, Omaha World-Herald
  • Tony Barnhart*, SEC Network
  • David Barron*, Houston Chronicle
  • Mark Blaudschun*,
  • Murry Bowden, College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2003 and NFF Vice Chairman
  • Gil Brandt*,
  • Chuck Carlton*, The Dallas Morning News
  • Gene Corrigan, NFF Board Member
  • Brian Davis*, Austin American-Statesman
  • Gene DeFilippo, NFF Board Member
  • Dennis Dodd*,
  • Bob Epling, NFF Board Member
  • Jack Ford, CBS 60 Minutes Sports Correspondent and NFF Board Member
  • Teddy Greenstein*, Chicago Tribune
  • Andrew Greif*, The Oregonian
  • Mike Griffith*,
  • Wally Hall*, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
  • Matt Hayes*, The Sporting News
  • Tommy Hicks*,
  • Ron Higgins*, Times Picayune
  • Dave Jones*, PA Media Group
  • Ryan Kartje*, Orange County Register
  • Blair Kerkhoff*, Kansas City Star
  • Jack Lengyel, NFF Board Member
  • Kelly Lyell*, Fort Collins Coloradoan
  • Don McPherson, College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2008
  • Matthew Murschel*, Orlando Sentinel
  • Chuck Neinas, NFF Board Member
  • Randy Peterson*, Des Moines Register
  • Jeff Shain*,
  • Phil Steele*, Phil Steele Publications
  • Patrick Stevens*,
  • Barry Switzer, College Football Hall of Famer Class of 2001
  • David Teel*, Newport News Daily Press
  • John Wagner*, Toledo Blade
  • Dick Weiss*, Blue Star Media
  • Rod West, NFF Board Member
  • Reggie Williams, College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2007
  • Bud Withers*, Seattle Times

*FWAA Member

Permalink 6 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Rumor Mill, Top Posts
6 Responses to “Voters for new college football poll announced by FWAA and NFF”
  1. manik56 says: Jul 17, 2014 12:12 PM

    The FWAA has awarded the Granand Rice Trophy to their national champion for decades. They have had a poll the last several years that I know of an possibly for decades. What is different this year?

  2. manik56 says: Jul 17, 2014 12:13 PM

    If the wordpress menu would not cover the first line of everything I post on “Talk” sites, I would have caught my typo.

  3. thehawg says: Jul 17, 2014 12:15 PM

    No Dan Lebetard ?

  4. cubano76 says: Jul 17, 2014 1:10 PM

    Barry Switzer?!?!?!?!?!?! SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. thefiesty1 says: Jul 17, 2014 1:17 PM

    Brian Davis – Austin American Statesman? What happened to Kirk “I’m never wrong” Bohls?

  6. irishdodger says: Jul 18, 2014 12:19 AM

    Wally Hall?!?! He hasn’t watched a non–SEC game since 1991…the year before the Hogs joined the conference. My ten year old knows more about college football than this homer.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!