Skip to content

Sun Belt coaches name UL Lafayette the unanimous favorite

Dominique Tovell

The Sun Belt Conference has a unanimous favorite this fall, at least according to the coaches in the conference. UL Lafayette received all 11 first-place votes from the coaches of the Sun Belt in a preseason poll, which was released by the Sun  Belt Saturday.

UL Lafayette tied for the conference championship last season with Arkansas State. Arkansas State is second in the preseason coaches poll for the upcoming season, followed by a growing South Alabama program. The South Alabama Jaguars are entering the third year as a FBS program and just the sixth year of its existence.

The Sun Belt also welcomes some new additions to the conference this season. Idaho and New Mexico State, once left standing together in the rubble of the imploded WAC, join the Sun Belt as football associate members. A pair of FCS programs making the move to the FBS, Appalachian State and Georgia Southern, also join the conference this season.

Here is how the Sun Belt coaches poll added up, courtesy of the Sun Belt Conference;

1. UL Lafayette 121 (11)
2. Arkansas State 102
3. South Alabama 98
4. Troy 84
5. UL Monroe 78
6. Texas State 70
7. Appalachian State 47
8. Georgia Southern 44
9. Idaho 29
10. Georgia State 27
11. New Mexico State 26

Sun Belt media day is scheduled for Monday, July 21.

Permalink 1 Comment Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Appalachian State Mountaineers, Arkansas State Red Wolves, Articles, Georgia Southern Eagles, Georgia State Panthers, Idaho Vandals, Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns, Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks, New Mexico State Aggies, Rumor Mill, South Alabama Jaguars, Sun Belt Conference, Texas State Bobcats, Top Posts, Troy Trojans
1 Response to “Sun Belt coaches name UL Lafayette the unanimous favorite”
  1. imaduffer says: Jul 19, 2014 8:34 PM

    I thought South Carolina and Alabama played in this conference. On another note, I’m sure Michigan doesn’t want play any of these teams either.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!