Gary Patterson wasn’t the only one who had an issue with the officiating in Week 5, although the TCU head coach, at least as of yet, hasn’t felt the wrath of his conference.
Following UCLA’s win over Arizona Saturday, Jim Mora was highly critical of some of the calls made by the Pac-12 officials in the contest. The head coach’s criticisms weren’t limited to the postgame as he was flagged for unsportsmanlike-like conduct during the contest.
Unsportsmanlike penalty on Mora moves the chains for Arizona. pic.twitter.com/j1nAylkqj3
— Bruin Report Online (@BruinReport) October 2, 2016
Three days later, commissioner Larry Scott announced that “Mora has been reprimanded by the Pac-12 Conference for public comments made about the Conference’s football officiating program.” In its release, the league specifically mentioned one of the calls, the one that earned the coach the penalty, that had drawn the ire of Mora.
One of the plays in question came with 3:13 remaining in the first quarter. Arizona attempted a pass on second and six at their own 22-yard line when an Arizona offensive lineman was initially flagged for being an ineligible receiver downfield. The flag was picked up when it was determined that the Arizona quarterback was out of the pocket and legally threw the ball away out of bounds. Per the CCA Officiating Manual (Page 28: Other Passing Situations – 9), “If the passer is legally throwing the ball away and it lands near or beyond the sideline, do not penalize the offense for having ineligible players downfield.” Similarly, “Offensive pass interference for blocking downfield will not be called if the passer is legally grounding the ball out of bounds, near or beyond the sideline.” (Page 27: Not Offensive Pass Interference – 1). The correct ruling on this play was confirmed by the NCAA.