Getty Images

Transferring Wake Forest WR Tabari Hines to visit Oregon

Leave a comment

Tabari Hines‘ graduation transfer tour, which has already taken him to Austin, will now see him headed for Eugene.

On his personal Twitter account Wednesday, Hines announced that he will take a visit to the Oregon campus on Thursday.  That excursion comes a couple of weeks after the wide receiver made a late-March visit to Texas.

In late February, Hines announced that he would be transferring from Wake Forest.  As a graduate transfer, the receiver will be eligible to play immediately at whichever FBS program he ultimately chooses.

This past season, Hines’ 53 receptions tied for the team lead, with his 683 receiving yards good for third on the Demon Deacons.  His seven receiving touchdowns were also third on the team.

For his collegiate career thus far, Hines has totaled 123 catches for 1,496 yards and 13 touchdowns.  In 2015, Hines set school freshman records for receptions (32) and receiving yards (366) in a single season.  He’s started 14 games the past two seasons — six in 2017, eight the year before.

ACC confirms Charlotte home of football title game through 2030

Getty Images
1 Comment

A relationship that’s was wobbly as recently as last year has been further solidified thanks to today’s development.

Wednesday, it was reported that the ACC would be announcing future venues — or venue, singular — for its football championship game.  A day later, the league confirmed, as expected, that its title game will remain in Charlotte for the foreseeable future.

The new agreement will keep the game at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium through the 2030 season.  The city was already set to host the game in 2018, 2019 and 2020.

“Charlotte has been a tremendous home for the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game and we’re pleased to announce the Queen City as our championship destination through 2030,” said conference commissioner John Swofford in a statement. “With the outstanding efforts by the Charlotte Sports Foundation, Carolina Panthers and city of Charlotte, our game has grown into one of the premier sporting events in the country. We look forward every year to this annual celebration of ACC Football.”

Charlotte had played host to the ACC football championship game every year since 2010 before a controversial bill resulted in the conference yanking the 2016 game from the city and moving it to Orlando.  In 2017, the game was moved back to Charlotte.

Prior to 2010, the first three league title tilts were played in Jacksonville (2005-07) and the next two in Tampa (2008-09).

American, ACC announce officiating alliance

Getty Images

The ACC and the American have struck a deal for a football officiating alliance, the American announced Monday. The new program will see the two conferences cooperate on all things officiating, from training to scheduling to evaluation.

With the move, the ACC’s Dennis Hennigan will oversee the alliance, while the American’s Terry McAulay will step down as the league’s coordinator of football officiating and the American will hire a new supervisor of football officials.

“We are excited to partner with the ACC regarding the administration of our football officiating program,” AAC commissioner Mike Aresco said in a statement. “This alliance will provide both conferences with a deep roster of the best college football officials and will provide for greater efficiency and consistency in the training and evaluation of officials as well as enhanced opportunities for the recruitment of officials. We look forward to working with Dennis Hennigan, who was regarded as one of the top on-field officials in college football and has since become a leader on the administrative side. I also want to thank Commissioner John Swofford for his cooperation in reaching this mutually beneficial arrangement.”

The new alliance means ACC officials could oversee a Tulane-Tulsa game, while AAC officials would work a Clemson-Georgia Tech game. The ACC-AAC Alliance will go into effect for the 2018 season.

Wake Forest, East Carolina schedule home-and-home for 2027-28

Getty Images
Leave a comment

East Carolina is not a member of the ACC, but at this point the Greenville, N.C., based school might as well be an affiliate member. ECU has inked a home-and-home series with Wake Forest for 2027-28, which extends the Pirates’ streak of consecutive seasons with at least one current ACC foe on the schedule to all but two of a 59-year stretch (1970-28), according to a CFT analysis of past ECU schedules.

The 2027 game will take place Sept. 11 in Greenville, and the ’28 game on Sept. 23 in Winston-Salem.

The bulk of those meetings have come against NC State (29 all-time meetings) Virginia Tech (22) and North Carolina (16), but Wake Forest has been a frequent collaborator of late. The Pirates and Deacons have met eight times previously and five straight years from 2001-05, all of which were Wake victories.

Future ECU vs. ACC games
2018: vs. North Carolina (Sept. 8), at Virginia Tech (Sept. 15)
2019: at NC State (Aug. 31), vs. Virginia Tech (Sept. 21)
2020: at Virginia Tech (Sept. 26)
2021: No scheduled ACC opponent
2022: vs. NC State (Sept. 3), at Virginia Tech (Sept. 17)
2023: vs. Virginia Tech (Sept. 23)
2024: at Virginia Tech (Sept. 7)
2025: vs. Virginia Tech (Sept. 20)
2026: No scheduled ACC opponent
2027: vs. Wake Forest (Sept. 11)
2028: at Wake Forest (Sept. 23)

The 2021 and ’26 slates still have one non-conference slot to fill, but considering the ’26 schedule already has a road trip to Boise State and a home date with West Virginia lined up, it’s unlikely East Carolina would line up another ACC opponent to fill the remaining opening — unless they don’t want to let the streak die.

Wake Forest WR Greg Dortch cleared for spring practice

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Unlike how his 2017 season ended, Greg Dortch‘s 2018 offseason is trending much more positively.

In Wake Forest’s late-October win over Louisville, Dortch went down with what turned out to be a season-ending abdominal injury. Four months after sustaining the injury, and with spring practice right around the corner, the wide receiver has been medically cleared to fully participate in practice.

Despite missing the last month of the regular season as well as the postseason, Dortch still led the Demon Deacons in receiving yards with 722. His 53 receptions and nine receiving touchdowns were tied for tops on the team as well.

In the game in which he was injured, he set the school record with four touchdown catches.