Sometimes you should just admit you were wrong and move on. The officiating crew in the Music City Bowl decided to do the exact opposite.
In a first half rife with questionable calls, the bellcow of the ineptness was Kentucky’s Benny Snell being ejected from the game against Northwestern because of an unsportsmanlike penalty that was called because the running back initiated contact with an official. First, we’ll go to the official postgame explanation of the ejection from Chris Coyte, the head referee who was “contacted” by Snell:
I was on top of the play. And the player got up and grabbed my arms and pushed them away and contacted me. That’s a foul.”
Did Snell say anything beyond the contact that influenced the ejection?
Can there be incidental contact between a player and an official?
Was this contact incidental?
“It was not.”
Is it accurate to phrase this as ‘intentional contact’?
“That’s how I ruled. Yes.
Now, let’s go to the tape that shows the egregious act committed by Snell…
Chris Coyte should never, ever officiate a major college football game again. Hell, youth football leagues should be hesitant to hire him.
Absolutely ridiculous, unacceptable and inexcusable.