Tamorrion Terry

Getty Images

Clemson’s Dabo Swinney, Trevor Lawrence claim ACC Coach, Rookie of the Year honors


Second-ranked Clemson may not have dominated the first-team all-conference squads like one would expect, but they are doing quite well in the initial stages of the “(Fill in the blank) of the Year” honors.

Coming off his fourth consecutive Atlantic division title, Dabo Swinney has been named as the ACC’s Coach of the Year.  This is Swinney’s second such honor, with the first coming in 2015.

Finishing second to Swinney’s 27 votes was Syracuse’s Dino Babers and his 22 votes.  Pat Narduzzi of Coastal champion Pitt (nine votes), Boston College’s Steve Addazio (one) and Virginia’s Bronco Mendenhall (one) were the only other coaches to receive votes.

Additionally, Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence claimed both the ACC’s overall Rookie of the Year and Offensive Rookie of the Year awards.  The true freshman was the overwhelming winner in both categories, receiving 57 votes in each.

On the other side of the ball, Syracuse safety Andre Cisco was named as the conference’s Defensive Rookie of the Year.

ACC Rookie of the Year
Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson — 57 votes
Xavier Thomas, DE, Clemson — 1
Andre Cisco, S, Syracuse — 1
Tamorrion Terry, WR, Florida State — 1

ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year
Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson — 57
Tamorrion Terry, WR, Florida State — 2
Tobias Oliver, QB, Georgia Tech — 1

ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year
Andre Cisco, S, Syracuse — 40
Xavier Thomas, DE, Clemson — 10
Jaiden Woodbey, LB, Florida State — 5
Charlie Thomas, LB, Georgia Tech — 3
Trey Morrison, CB, North Carolina — 2

Florida State’s record bowl streak not dead yet as FSU stuns No. 20 Boston College

Associated Press

Left for postseason dead given its remaining schedule, Florida State showed Saturday afternoon and on into the evening that there’s still some life left in the Seminoles.

At 4-6, Florida State came into Week 12 needing to beat No. 20 Boston College this week and No. 13 Florida State next to become bowl-eligible in 2018.  In stunning fashion Saturday night, the Seminoles took care of half of its remaining business as unranked FSU stunned No. 20 Boston College with a 22-21 win in Tallahassee.

Trailing 21-16, Deondre Francois connected with Tamorrion Terry on a 74-yard touchdown pass with 1:49 remaining that proved to be the game-winning score.  The win snaps a three-game losing streak that came amidst a five-game run to end the regular season against five ranked teams.

Now standing at 5-6, FSU needs to beat rival and 13th-ranked Florida next Saturday to become bowl-eligible.  At stake is FSU’s bowl streak, which at 36 straight is the longest ever at the FBS level.  The NCAA, though, does not recognize that streak as FSU was deemed to have vacated its 2006 Emerald Bowl win because of an academic cheating scandal; instead, Nebraska’s 35-game streak, which ended in 2003, is recognized by the NCAA as the record.

Should FSU lose to Florida next week, Virginia Tech would be poised to take over the longest active streak of bowl appearances.  Tech has a current streak of 25 straight, but, at 4-6 following today’s loss to Miami, needs to beat Virginia next Saturday and then, if they beat their rival, beat Marshall in a newly-scheduled game to keep it alive.

And, should both Florida State and Virginia Tech fail to make the postseason?  Georgia, at 22 straight including this season, would take over as the team with the nation’s longest bowl streak.

Upset brewing? Florida State holds halftime lead over No. 17 Miami

Associated Press
Leave a comment

With one traditional, heated mid-October upset already in the books, could another be in the offing? At the half in Coral Gables, Florida State holds a 20-7 lead over No. 17 Miami.

After forcing a three-and-out to open the game, Florida State took over at its own 42 and promptly marched to the end zone to take a 7-0 lead. Deondre Francois hit Tre' McKitty for a 21-yard gain on a 3rd-and-17 from midfield, then found Keith Gavin for a 17-yard scoring strike.

Miami’s equalizer came from that same 17-yard line, as the Hurricanes moved 83 yards in 14 plays, scoring on a 10-yard toss from N’Kosi Perry to Lawrence Cager on a 4th-and-2.

The Canes appeared primed to take their first lead when, on 1st-and-10 from their own 47, Perry was stripped by Brian Burns, and FSU’s DeCalon Brooks hopped on the loose pigskin.

Florida State turned that turnover into a 42-yard Ricky Aguayo field goal, then, after a 44-yard D.J. Matthews return of a 46-yard punt, the ‘Noles took control of the game with another 17-yard Francois touchdown pass, this one to Tamorrion Terry at the 1:32 mark of the second quarter.

Mark Richt curiously chose to go for a 4th-and-3 at the FSU 48 with 41 seconds left in the half, and Perry fired incomplete, turning the ball over to FSU. Perry finished the half hitting just 7-of-18 passes, so it was a curious move that backfired in an obvious way when Aguayo connected on a 53-yard field goal as time expired to give Florida State a 13-point lead.

Florida State receives to open the second half.